[Masthead] Fair ~ 37°F  
High: 75°F ~ Low: 54°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Voter turnout was light

Monday, September 19, 2005

By Ken Ross, Managing editor

Voter turnout was light for area school elections on Tuesday. The River Valley District, with a contested at-large election, had by far the highest percentage of voter turnout, 16.25 percent.

Lyle Paulsen received 212 votes, winning over Scott Knaack who received 101 votes for the River Valley seat held by Jim Stowater. Stowater did not seek reelection.

Only 82 voters went to the polls in the Cherokee District, 1.76 percent of the registered voters. There were only two candidates for the two at-large seats up for election. Kirk Sampson won reelection to a second term with 76 votes. Deb Johnson won election to a first term with 81 votes. Laurie Gerstandt, the current board president serving her second term, did not seek reelection.

The percentage of voter turnout in Aurelia was better than in Cherokee, but still light. There were 57 voters, 4.58 percent of the registered voters, who voted in the Aurelia election. This was another election with two uncontested candidates for two at-large seats on the ballot.

Susan Corderman received reelection to her third term on the board with 52 votes. Dan Winterhof won election to his first term with 53 votes. Doug Radke, who is completing his fourth term, did not seek reelection in Aurelia.

The Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn District, with a write-in candidacy and a Physical Plant and Equipment Levy (PPEL) vote, had 135 people at the polls, a 6.15 percent turnout.

Actually, because of some confusion, all three of the seats up for election on the seven-member MMC board were elected by write-in vote. Because of a mistake in information provided to the Cherokee County Auditor's Office, Vernon Letsche was listed on the ballot as a district 4 candidate rather than for district 6 where he lives and Eric Wester was on the ballot as a district 6 candidate rather for district 4 where he lives.

The error was discovered before the election and a write-in vote was made to get each candidate elected to the appropriate district.

In district 5, where there was no candidate on the ballot, Karla Prunty easily outdid any other write-in. She had 46 votes with the next highest vote total being 13 votes for Lee Foresman.

The 67 cents per $1,000 valuation voter-approved PPEL in MMC was approved for another five years by a comfortable margin, 98 yes votes to 21 no votes.

The total PPEL in MMC is currently $1 per $1,000 valuation. Of this, 67 cents is voter approved and 33 cents is approved by board action.

There were also three seats up for election on the Northwest Iowa Community College Board, which voters in the MMC district voted on. All three seats had one uncontested candidate each on the ballot.

The election results are unofficial until canvassed by the Cherokee County Board of Supervisors on Friday (the Woodbury County Board of Supervisors in the case of the River Valley District.)

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: