[Masthead] Partly Cloudy ~ 67°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 42°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Henrich, Mallory and Leach win

Monday, November 14, 2005

Dennis Henrich was elected to another term as mayor of Cherokee last week.
By Ken Ross, Managing Editor

In Cherokee, the incumbent mayor withstood two challengers. Dennis Henrich has been reelected to another four-year term, receiving 549 votes (47. 1 percent), while Dan Morrow received 466 votes (40.0 percent) and John Woods received 148 votes (12.7 percent). There were two write-in votes.

In a three-way contest for the at-large seat, Mick Mallory won with 487 votes (42.2 percent) while Douglas Gene Streeter received 394 votes (34.1 percent) and Shane Sauer received 272 votes (23.5 percent). There were two write-in votes.

In the contest for the ward 2 council seat, Robert Leach narrowly won with 183 votes (51.5 percent), while Frank Escue received 171 votes (48.2 percent). There was one write-in vote.

In Aurelia, there were three winners of council seats among the field of six candidates. The one incumbent, Robert Forbes, narrowly missed being returned.

The winners included Darwin Evans with 197 votes, Chris Ballantyne with 175 votes and Kendall Henkel with 153 votes. Others on the ballot included Robert Forbes with 146 votes, Mitch Langschwager with 70 votes and Richard Otto with 62 votes.

Jeff Bowen was the only candidate for mayor of Aurelia and received 242 votes. There were 21 write-in votes for mayor.

In Marcus, Darrell Downs was on the ballot unopposed for reelection as mayor. He received 157 votes and there were five write-ins.

Three candidates were on the ballot for the two Marcus City Council seats. The winners were Sherree Ogren (incumbent) with 146 votes and Conrad Ebert with 116 votes. Pearl Henke received 72 votes.

In Quimby, Betty Woltman did not file for reelection as the mayor of Quimby nor did anyone else file for that seat. The top write-in vote getter was Tim Preuss who received 26 votes. John Simonsen received 15 votes and there were 27 other write-ins.

In the Quimby City Council election, four candidates were on the ballot for three seats but there was a strong write-in vote resulting in a tie for third place. Mary Haselhoff had 61 votes and Helen Simonsen (incumbent) received 44 votes. Willie Allbauugh, an incumbent on the ballot tied with write-in candidate Myron Joens with 42 votes. Don Fiser (incumbent) had 39 votes as did a write-in, Bob Herron. Larry Nelson was unopposed on the ballot to fill an unexpired term on the Quimby City Council that he is currently holding by appointment. He received 64 votes.

In Cleghorn, where two council seats are up for election, only the incumbent Les Pederson was on the ballot for reelection to the council position he holds. He received 45 votes. The person with the most write-in votes to fill the other open seat was Bob Byers with 25 votes. He is currently on the council but did not seek reelection.

In Larrabee, Judy Wagner ran unopposed for reelection as mayor. She received 22 votes. Only two candidates filed to fill the three Larrabee City Council Seats up for election. Leigh Dobsen-Peterson (incumbent) received 24 votes and Marlene F. Prostrollo received 16 votes. The person with the most write-in votes was Melinda Lewis who received 10 votes.

In Washta, the number of candidates matched the number of positions, with the mayor and two of the three city council candidates being incumbents. Donald Parrott received 34 votes for reelection as mayor of Washta.

For Washta City Council, Michael Bauman (incumbent) received 36 votes, Scott Jenkins (incumbent) received 36 votes and Curtis Cockburn received 34 votes.

In Meriden, all the incumbents ran unopposed for reelection. D.J. Sechler received 33 votes for reelection as the Meriden mayor. Winners of reelection to new terms were Brian Shea with 34 votes, Shirley Korleski with 33 votes and Dennis Thorp with 30 votes. Mike Dunn received 32 votes to complete an unexpired term to which he was appointed.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: