[Masthead] Light Drizzle ~ 47°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 42°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

New councilmen sworn in

Friday, December 30, 2005

Bob Leach and Mick Mallory were sworn in as new Cherokee City Council members on Tuesday, replacing Doug Woods and Marty Zahaur who did not seek reelection.

In order to avoid the expense of a special meeting after the first of the year (council members each get $40 a meeting), the organizational meeting appointments and designations were taken care of on the last meeting of the year.

Under mayor appointments, Steve Schuck was reappointed police chief and Bill Troth was reappointed mayor pro-tempore. Troth will chair council meetings in the absence of the mayor.

The council voted to confirm the mayoral appointments.

Council appointments included Ron Strickland as city administrator, Deb Taylor as city clerk-treasurer, Diane Cargin as deputy city clerk-treasurer, and Wally Miller, Jr. as city attorney.

The fire chief and the two assistant chiefs are elected by members of the volunteer fire department. The chief's election is subject to approval of the city council. The council voted to confirm the reelection of Jack Olson as chief. Gary Chase was reelected as first assistant chief. Dave Lucas was elected as second assistant chief, replacing Doug Woods who is retiring. The council also voted to confirm these appointments.

Committee appointments included, Ken Slater to Landfill Commission, Dave Deedrick to Siouxland Regional Housing Authority, Dan Hingtgen to the ISTEA tecnical advisory board, Dwight Varce to the ISTEA policy board and the Historic Preservation Commission, Mick Samsel to the Historic Preservation Commission, DeeGee Blair to the Historic Preservation Commission, Ron Johnson to County REAP Committee and the County Damage Assessment Team, Bob Leach to the County 911 Committee, Mick Mallory to the WIT Conference Center Governing Board and Mike Rupp to the Cherokee County Aviation Board.

The Chronicle Times was designated the official publication.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: