[Masthead] Overcast ~ 45°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Quality fuels 2006 Cherokee PRCA Rodeo

Monday, June 12, 2006

Record number of entrants cash in on record purse

A record 344 contestants, including several top-rated cowboys in the world vying for $44,735 in total prize monies, highlighted the 40th annual Cherokee PRCA Rodeo last week at the Cherokee County Fairgrounds.

National Finals Rodeo qualifier Mike Moore of Kankakee, Ill. won the popular, curtain-closing Bull Riding event, scoring 87 points and earning $1,536.15 in prize money.

He was followed by Steve Antczak of Cameron, Wisc., 83 points and $1,163.75; Tater Hens, Huron, S.D., 82, $837.90; Justin Hathaway, Rapid City, S.D., 81, $558.60; Chance Smart, Philadelphia, Miss., 77, $325.85; Cole Hermanson, Mandan, N.D., 76, $77.58; Travis Sellers, Wentzville, Mo., 76, $77.58; Matt Dunsmore, Eden Prairie, Minn., 76, $77.58.

Sellers is currently ranked ninth in the worl in Bull Riding.

Heith DeMoss of Crowville, La., won the Saddle Bronc competition with 86 points and earning $1,395.07 in prize money.

He was followed by Ryan Mapston, Belt, Mt., 84, $1,056.87; Shaun Stroh, Gelndive, Mt., 82, $634.12; Cody DeMoss, Heflin, La., 82, $634.12; Ty Atchison, Jackson, Mo., 78, $253.64; Issac Diaz, Mineola, Tx., 78, $253.64.

Cody DeMoss currently leads the world standings in Saddle Bronc, Stroh is ranked eighth in the world, and Mapston was a WNFR qualifier.

The 2004 World Champion Bareback Rider Kelly Timberman of Mills, Wy. won the Bareback crown with 82 points, earning $1,442 in prize money.

He was followed by Josh Luger, Ft. Yates, N.D., 81, $1,092.50; Chris Timberman, Casper, Wy., 80, $655.50; Justin McDaniel, Porum, Ok., 80, $655.50; Jeff Fuehring, Hart, Mi., 79, $262.20; J.D. Garrett Jr., Grandview, Tx., 79, $262.20.

Garrett is currently ranked 11th in the Bareback world standings.

Levi Wisness of Keene, N.D., won the Steer Wrestling in a time of 4.8 seconds to earn $1,494.59 in prize money.

He was followed by Jon Bagatz, Cassville, Wi., 6.0, $1,236.90; Gabe Taylor, Valentine, Neb., 7.0, $979.21; Daniel Morton Jr., Ellsworth, Minn., 7.8, $360.76; Chad Johnston, Maywood, Neb., 7.8, $360.76; and Pete Owenby, Pleasanton, Kan., 7.8, $360.76.

Clay Cowan of Highmore, S.D., won the Calf Roping with a time of 10.0 seconds to earn $1,597.90.

He was followed by Tyler Schau, Fort Dodge, 10.1, $1,322.40; Jay Hollenbeck, Valentine, Neb., 10.3, $1,046.70; Brian Garr, Timberlake, S.D., 10.4, $771.40; Kyle Whitaker, Chambers, Neb., 10.8, $495.90; Matt McGee, St. Genevieve, Mo., 10.9, $275.50.

Tammy White of Eau Claire, Wi., captured the Barrel Racing title in a time of 15.27, earning $1,302.29.

She was followed by Deane Helmin, Ham Lake, Minn., 15.39, $1,116.25; Sandi Brandli, Mauston, Wi., 15.47; $930.21; Jody Marone, Phillip. S.D., 15.54, $806.18; Lisa Lockhart, Oelrichs, S.D., 15.55, $620.14; Jo Lynn Grieves, Winner, S.D., 15.58, $496.11; Carolyn Uhler, Holden, Mo., 15.70, $372.08; Amy Wheeler, Chetck, Wi., 15.71, $248.06; Shari Amiotte, Fort Pierre, S.D., 15.75, $186.04; Beth Check, Tomah, Wi., 15.78, $124.03.

Gabe Gwaltney of Carthage, Mo., and Jeff Brown of Joplin, Mo., paired up to win the Team Roping competition, the first time that event has been held in conjunction with the Cherokee PRCA Rodeo. Gwaltney and Brown timed 6.1 seconds to each earn $1,490.45

They were followed by Nick Sartain of Yukon, Ok., and Shannon Frascht of Alva, Ok., 6.2, $1,233.48 each; Troy Kitchener, Liberty, Mo., and Todd Reece, Winston, Mo., 6.8, $976.50 each; Shaw Loiseau, Flandreau, S.D., and Tommy Crane, Whitewood, S.D., 6.9, $719.53 each; Rob Holland, Riley, Kan., and Luke Holland, Buryrus, Kan., 7.1, $462.55 each; Micky Fletcher Jr., Okeechobee, Fla., and Kollin Von Ahn, Durant, Ok., 7.3, $256.97.

More than 5,000 people attended the three Cherokee PRCA Rodeo performances Thursday through Saturday, and several thousands lined the streets Saturday afternoon for the exciting Cherokee PRCA Rodeo Parade.

As they have for the past 40 years, the dedicated Cherokee PRCA Rodeo Committee, Cherokee Chamber of Commerce, and producer/stock contractor Barnes/MJM Rodeo did themselves proud.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: