Football Braves named All-District

Monday, November 27, 2006

9 make first team; 5 Academic All-District

Class 2A District I runner-up and State Playoff qualifier Cherokee Washington High landed an impressive nine football players on the All-District First Team announced this week.

In addition, five WHS players earned Academic All-District laurels.

Four Braves' linemen earned first-team All-District berths, including senior Chris Smith, junior Tim Jones, and senior Nick Daum on offense, and senior Ben George on defense.

Other first-team offensive selections were sophomore quarterback Tyler Jones, junior receiver Chris Campbell, and senior receiver Michael Boothby. Senior Josh Mugge also was a first-team pick at linebacker, as was senior kicker Andy Dawson.

Two Braves earned Honorable Mention All-District - senior defensive back Matthew Boothby, and junior defensive end Mark Johnson.

Five Braves also earned Academic All-District honors, including Michael Boothby, Matthew Boothby, Mugge, Daum, and Michael Carlson.

Central Lyon/George-Little Rock, the 2006 Class 2A State Champions, won the District title with a 7-0 record and an 8-1 overall mark.

Cherokee was second at 6-1 and 6-3 over all, followed by Rock Valley/Boyden-Hull 5-2 and 6-3, Sioux Center 4-3 and 6-3, Sheldon 3-4 and 3-6, Orange City Unity Christian 2-5 and 3-6, Hull Western Christian 1-6 and 1-8, and Sibley-Ocheyedan 0-7, 0-9.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: