[Masthead] Light Drizzle ~ 47°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 42°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

MMC wrestlers have new coach, 11 lettermen

Friday, December 8, 2006

Members of the 2006-2007 Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn wrestling team are, front row, left to right, Jacob Lenhoff, Ben Mayer, Ethan Radke, Taylor Witzel. Middle, Luke Dreckman, Mitch Erdman, Russ Godbersen, Blaine Dammann, Tory Johnson. Back, Kyle Kohn, Tucker Peterson, Jerad Letsche, Todd Godbersen. Absent, Daniel Holmes.
MARCUS - A talented group of 11 returning lettermen should make the Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn wrestling team one tough hombre in Northwest Iowa again this season.

First-year coach Steve Phillips takes over the Eagles' helm following the retirement of hugely successful veteran coach Steve Utesch, who has built the MMC program into a traditional power. Phillips is eager to continue that tradition, to say the least.

Among those 11 lettermen back are Todd Godbersen, Jacob Lenhoff, Mitch Erdman, Blaine Dammann, Tory Johnson, Ben Mayer, Jerad Letsche, Kyle Kohn, Tucker Petersen, Luke Dreckman, and Dan Holmes.

Among the promising newcomers who could see immediate varsity action are Russ Godbersen and Taylor Witzel.

Four Eagles have stood out above the crowd in their prep careers to date, including Erdman, a two-time state qualifier; Johnson a three-time district qualifier; Kohn, a district qualifier; and Jerad Letsch, also a district qualifier.

Coach Phillips lists senior leadership and a valuable work ethic as among his team's major strengths, while lack of depth is a cause for concern at some of the weights.

Phillips will be assisted by former Eagle wrestling stalwart, Dean Bindner, as MMC battles in the tough War Eagle Conference and the many rugged weekend meets on the schedule.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: