[Masthead] Fair ~ 67°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 61°F
Tuesday, Sep. 2, 2014

Iowa's Mr. Basketball Award winners

Monday, January 8, 2007

This award is chosen by the Iowa Newspaper Association at the time of their annual All-State

selections. It was started in 1981. The IHSAA does not participate in All-State selections,

but lists the winners here as a matter of public interest.

2006 Jason Bohannon, Linn-Mar, Marion

2005 Josh Van Es, MOC-Floyd Valley

2004 Carlton Reed, Waterloo East

2003 Brooks McKowen, Wapsie Valley, Fairbank

2002 Jeff Horner, Mason City

2001 Tyler McKinney, Urbandale

2000 Glen Worley, Iowa City West

1999 Kirk Hinrich, Sioux City West & Nick Collison, Iowa Falls

1998 David Newman, Des Moines Hoover

1997 Dean Oliver, Mason City

1996 Justin Wessel, Prairie, Cedar Rapids

1995 Adam Spanich, Cedar Rapids Regis

1994 Raef LaFrentz, MFL Mar-Mac, Monona

1993 Jess Settles, Winfield-Mt. Union

1992 Eric Pothoven, Pella Christian

1991 Fred Hoiberg, Ames

1990 Mike Davis, Waterloo East

1989 Mike Bergman, Waverly-Shell Rock

1988 Wade Lookingbill, Fort Dodge

1987 Robert Johnson, Des Moines Lincoln

1986 Chris Gaines, Waterloo West

1985 Brian David, Kuemper Catholic, Carroll

1984 Al Lorenzen, Cedar Rapids Kennedy

1983 Todd Lumsden, Linn-Mar, Marion

1982 Randy Kraayenbrink, Paullina & Ted Burbach, Wahlert, Dubuque

1981 Todd Berkenpas, Maple Valley, Mapleton


Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on this site, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.


Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.