[Masthead] Light Rain ~ 42°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 42°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

MMC wrestles double dual

Tuesday, January 30, 2007

Mitch Erdman, right, of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn, stalks his opponent during the Eagles' wrestling double dual against Storm Lake and MOC-Floyd Valley in Marcus on Jan. 23. Erdman was a double winner for MMC. Photo by Dan Whitney.
Four Eagles win both matches

MARCUS - The Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn wrestlers split a tough double dual with Storm Lake and MOC-Floyd Valley here on Jan. 23, falling 33-30 to the Tornadoes, and defeating the Dutchmen 40-28.

Mitch Erdman at 125 pounds, Russ Godbersen at 135, Tory Johnson at 140, and Jared Letsche at 160 were double winners for the Eagles of coach Steve Phillips. Each double winner also recorded one win by fall.

Jared Letsche of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn has his Storm Lake opponent, Nate Tucker, on the way to a pin in a wrestling double dual Jan. 23 in Marcus. Letsche was a double winner for the Eagles. Photo by Dan Whitney.
"Against Storm Lake, Tayor Witzel lost in overtime in the last match of the night at 152 on a questionable call," noted Phillips of the exciting finish. The teams were tied at 30-30 heading into the final match.

No times were submitted on some of the matches decided by fall.

SL 33, MMC 30

Russ Godbersen of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn controls Storm Lake's Ryan Lovstad during the Eagles' double dual in Marcus on Jan. 23. Godbersen won both his matches. Photo by Dan Whitney.
103 - Paul Inthankone, SL, won by forfeit.

112 - Cole Raglen, SL, won by technical fall.

119 - Jared Brashears, SL, beat Jacob Lehnoff 4-2.

125 - Mitch Erdman, MMC, beat Jose Diaz 9-3.

130 - Patrick Higgins, SL, pinned Blaine Dammann.

135 - Russ Godbersen, MMC, beat Ryan Lovstad 8-2.

Tory Johnson of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn, top, has Storm Lake's Dan Higgins in dire straits on his way to victory at MMC's double wrestling dual in Marcus on Jan. 23. Johnson won both matches. Photo by Dan Whitney.
140 - Tory Johnson, MMC, beat Dan HIggins 12-8.

145 - Ben Mayer, MMC, beat Keith Wolf 9-2.

152 - Ben Seaman, SL, beat Taylor Witzel 2-0.

160 - Jared Letsche, MMC, pinned Nate Tucker 2:16.

171 -Kyle Kohn, MMC, won by forfeit.

189 - Tucker Petersen, MMC, won by forfeit.

215 - Juan Flores, SL, beat Luke Dreckman 10-2.

Hwt - Adam Davis, SL, pinned Dan Holmes.

MMC 40, MOC-FV 28

103 - Open.

112 - Godbersen, MMC, won by forfeit.

119 - Lehnoff, MMC, pinned Scott Thompson 1:38.

125 - Erdman, MMC, pinned Adam Vogel 2:00.

130 - Dammann, MMC, won by forfeit.

135 - Godbersen, MMC, pinned Matt Utter :34.

140 - Johnson, MMC, pinned Casey Fedders 1:34.

145 - Theo Blankers, MOC-FV, beat Mayer 8-4.

152 - Brandon Mars, MOC-FV, beat Witzel 5-4.

160 - Letsche, MMC, beat Geoff Oolman 9-0.

171 - Lucas Plendl, MOC-FV, beat Kohn 8-1.

189 - Monte Hickman, MOC-FV, pinned Petersen.

215 - Ryan Whitt, MOC-FV, beat Dreckman 12-2.

Hwt - Paul Lundgren, MOC-FV, pinned Holmes.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: