[Masthead] Overcast ~ 40°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Area wrestlers vie at Sectionals

Monday, February 19, 2007

AGH wins team title, advances nine to Districts

The Chronicle Times coverage area is fortunate to have several outstanding wrestlers, and they did themselves, their schools, and their fans proud Feb. 10th in Sectional Wrestling tournaments in Orange City (Class 2A) and Rock Rapids (1A).

At Orange City, Aurelia-Galva-Holstein won the team title, amassing 218 points to far out-distance runner-up MOC/Floyd Valley, who had 146 points. They were followed by SOS/Sheldon 141, Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley 141, Cherokee 132, and Hull Western Christian 79.

The AGH team, by winning the Sectional, qualified for the Team Regionals, and they beat Battle Creek-Ida Grove/Odebolt-Arthur in Ida Grove on Feb. 13th in that tournament.

AGH will also be sending nine wrestlers to the Districts at Spirit Lake on Feb. 17th, with six Sectional champions and three runners-up.

Ryan Donahoo won a decision to take the 112 pound championship; Adam Parker, at 125, pinned his opponent in 2:38 for the championship; Steve White won a wrestleback with a pin in :28 to take second place; Kyle Yearous, at 135, also won a wrestleback with a pin , in :42, to take second; Mike White , at 140, won the championship with a 12-2 victory; Andrew Perry won a squeaker, 6-5, to win the championship; Austin Todd at 160 won 13-7 over Thor Klinker of South O'Brien/Sheldon; Daniel Borchers at 189 pinned his opponent, SOS/Sheldon's Jacob Crowl, in 2:43 to win the championship; and AGH's heavyweight, Adam Dreeszen, lost by fall in 1:29 to take second place.

Cherokee had two champions - Undefeated Tyler Halverson at 130 pounds and Nick Loughlin at 152 pounds - and two runners-up, 189 pounder Peter Conley and 215 pounder Tim Jones.

In addition to the SOS/Sheldon wrestlers mentioned above in the AGH results, the Orab wrestlers also had a champion at 171 pounds, unbeaten Josh Ihnen, and runners-up at 103, Hayden Adkins, and 119, Mike Faust.

A total of 18 area wrestlers will be competing at Spirit Lake on the 17th for the right to go to the State Tournament in Des Moines, Feb. 21-24.

Cherokee Washington - Tyler Halverson, 130 (39-0); Nick Loughlin, 152 (24-3); Peter Conley, 189 (25-21); and Tim Jones, 215 (29-11).

Sheldon/South O'Brien - Hayden Adkins, 103 (18-19); Mike Faust, 119 (18-20); Thor Klinker, 160 (33-6); and Josh Ihnen, 171 (41-0).

Aurelia/Galva-Holstein - Ryan Donahoo, 112 (32-10); Adam Parker, 125 (41-3); Steve White, 130 (31-14); Kyle Yearous, 135 (35-10); Mike White, 140 (39-6); Andrew Perry, 145 (30-9); Austin Todd, 160 (32-6); Daniel Borchers, 189 (42-2); and Adam Dreeszen, heavyweight (32-9).

In Class 1A Sectional Wrestling at Rock Rapids, Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn had two wrestlers advance to the Districts, which will be o the 17th at West Lyon, Inwood.

Mitch Erdman won the 125 pound championship, and Russ Godbersen was the runner-up at 135 pounds.

Erdman sports a 37-2 season record, and Godbersen is 34-6.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: