[Masthead] Fair ~ 70°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Tell a Tale of Iowa High Preps

Thursday, April 26, 2007

(Some interesting facts offered to the media by the IHSAA.)

The IHSAA has been in existence since 1906. When it was created the membership fee for schools was $2.50 with nominal assessments ranging from one to three dollars for various tournament entry fees. Now 102 years later, what is the cost of a school's membership fee to the IHSAA?

A - The membership fee is only $2.00 per school, regardless of enrollment. It has been $2.00 since 1968 and the entry fee for tournaments was phased out in the early 1960s.

* * *

Iowa boasts two baseball coaches who are the win leaders in Iowa and the nation. Can you name them?

A - Kee, Lansing's Gene Schultz goes into this summer with a record of 1,484-318-1, and Decorah's Dennis Olejniczak enters this year with a 1,168-405-1 mark. The two coaches annually play each other.

* * *

This Iowan was a starting offensive lineman for Notre Dame in 1921 and 1922, when they featured the legendary George Gipp. He later was the first NFL coach to defeat Vince Lombardi for the NFL Championship, and the only Iowan to coach an NFL Champion (Philadelphia Eagles). Who was he?

A - Buck Shaw who was born in Mitchellville and went to school in Stuart

* * *

Much has been written (and deservedly so) about Cedar Rapids‚ Zach Johnson, 2007 Masters golf champion, and Davenport‚s Jack Fleck, the 1955 U.S. Open Champion, as accomplished Iowa professional golfers. But who was the first Iowa woman to win an LPGA event?

A - Sioux City‚s Judy Kimball won the 1962 LPGA at Stardust Country Club in Las Vegas.

* * *

When was the first ever high school athletic event aired on radio?

A - Sept. 23, 1922 when Marshalltown‚s station (now KFJB) broadcast a Marshalltown doubleheader wins over Belle Plaine and Toledo. The broadcast is also believed to be the first of any high school contest in the nation.

* * *

This young woman successfully lobbied the Iowa City School Board to join the Iowa Girls' Athletic Union, so she could be entered in the State High School Tennis Series. She went on to be a two- time champion (1966 and 67), and in 1976 she held a national professional ranking of sixth, and was ranked 11th in the world - plus she was on the nation's top-ranked doubles unit. Who was she?

A - Mona Schallau

* * *

Can you name the only Iowa jockey to ride the winning horse in the Kentucky Derby?

A - Mack Garner of Centerville. In 1934, he brought the brilliant Cavalcade to the wire first in "the run for the roses."

* * *

This high school leads Iowa boys' tennis schools with 12 singles champions, six singles runners-up, plus 10 doubles champions and six doubles runners-up. What is the high school?

A - Des Moines Roosevelt.

* * *

This spring is the 102nd running of the IHSAA State Track & Field Championships. Only five athletes have won four events in a single state meet. How many can you name?

A - 1907 - Carl Harris, Des Moines West (100, 220, 440 yard dashes and long jump); 1926 - Van Snorf, Des Moines Roosevelt (100 yard dash, 120 yd. High Hurdles, 220 yd. Low Hurdles, long jump); 1956 - Bob Brandt, Denison (100, 220 yard dashes, 180 yd. Low Hurdles, long jump); 1976 - LeRoy McCuen, Corning (120 yd. High Hurdles, 180 yd. Low Hurdles, high jump, long jump);snd 2002 - Adam Haluska (100, 200, 400 meter dashes and long jump)

* * *

Who holds the single game scoring record in Iowa boys' basketball?

A - Roy Buchanan of Conway poured in 84 points against Gravity, Feb. 2, 1927. Both communities are now included in the Bedford School District. The top three single game totals, which also include 76 by Battle Creek's Gary Wolcott in a 1921 game against Arthur, and Fonda's Jim Kelly, who torched Jolley for 75 in 1913, were established before the elimination of the center jump after made field goals (1937). No. 4 is the modern era record of 71 by Doon's Louis Sneller against Larchwood in 1955.

* * *

This is the 80th year for the IHSAA State Golf Tournament, and 185 state team champions and medalists have been crowned in that time. In that span of time only two players have been three time medalists. Who are they?

A - Sean McCarty, West Branch (1989, 90, 91) and Kevin Neill, Preston (1985, 86, 87).

* * *

A three-time 100 yard and 220 yard dash State Champion, with also a state gold medal in the 120 yd. high hurdles, became the first former Iowa State Track Champion to coach a team to a State Track Championship. Who was he?

A Arguably the nation's best sprinter in 1911-13, Charles Hoyt of Greenfield, was the 1920 Sioux City state championship coach. One of Hoyt's protégées was F. Morgan Taylor, four- time state champ who went on to compete in three Olympic Games- winning a gold medal and two bronzes. Taylor at one time in his adult career held the Olympic and World records in the 400 meter hurdles. His 1924 Olympic gold medal hurdle race is in the film "Chariots of Fire"

* * *

This year the 79th State Tennis Tournament will take place. It has been in two classes since 1977. Only two individuals in the history of the meet have been a three-time champion in singles. Who are they?

A Art Andrews of Iowa City, who won in 1953, 54 and 55, and Maharishi, Fairfield's Tyler Cleveland, who won in 1995, 96 and 97. Andrews was also a member of the 1952 championship doubles team with Ted Dunnington, giving him a total of four state gold medals - a claim no other Iowa tennis player can make.

* * *

Can you name the radio personality who went to Manson in 1934 to phone back reports of the Spring State Baseball Championship?

A - WHO sports announcer, the late President Ronald Reagan, who less than three weeks earlier won national acclaim for his reports from the Drake Relays, delivered the reports of Des Moines North's 8-7 win over Central City.

* * *

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: