[Masthead] Overcast ~ 43°F  
High: 55°F ~ Low: 45°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

Aurelia Coach Lockin Named to Golf Hall

Monday, June 11, 2007

John Lockin
The Iowa High School Golf Coaches Association named their Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, and elected the 2008 members of their Hall of Fame in a recent meeting in Ankeny.

Veteran Aurelia girls' golf coach John Lockin was named to the Coaches Hall of Fame. Lockin retired after the 2007 season after many years at the Bulldogs' helm.

Players of the Year winners were:


Class 4A - Laura Cilek, Sr. from Iowa City West & Amanda Stahl Sr. from Linn-Mar

Class 3A - Jordan Davis, Sr. from Maquoketa

Class 2A - Jessie Feuerbach, Sr. from Iowa City Regina

Class 1A - Rebecca Lewis, Sr. from Lynnville-Sully


Class 3A - Cody Schweinefus,, Sr. from Decorah

Class 2A - no player named

Class 1A - Chris Reck, Jr. from East Buchanan & David Young Sr. from Hinton

Coach of the Year winners were:


Class 1A - Bruce Held, Hinton

Class 2A - no coach named

Class 3A - Mick Flattery, Fairfield


Class 1A - Julie Johnson, Hinton; Class 2A - Jeremy Burk - Iowa City Regina;

Class 3A - Jack Dickerson - Shenandoah-Essex; Class 4A - Dusty Stewart - Ottumwa

Coaches named to the Hall of Fame:

Betty Heflin, Atlantic; Don Angel, Waukon; Larry Miller, Dubuque Senior;

John Lockin, Aurelia

Players named to the Hall of Fame (first Hall of Fame class for Players): Sharon Fladoos, Dubuque; Jacque Fladoos, Dubuque; Kathy McMullen, Dubuque Wahlert; Sean McCarty, West Branch; Kevin Neill, Preston.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: