Lakes, District honors for Braves

Monday, August 13, 2007
Cory Ege

Ege, Ruehle, Johnson, Jones are first-team picks

Four Cherokee Braves earned first-team and one earned second-team All-Lakes Conference status for the 2007 season, a historic one for Cherokee as the Braves won the Lakes Conference title, and District and Substate championships on the way to the Class 2A State Championship.

In addition, three players were named to the first team Class 2A Northwest All-District Team, and three more to the second team Northwest All-District Team for the 31-2 State Champion Braves.

Mark Johnson

Named to the All-Lakes Conference first team were unanimous picks, senior infielder Cory Ege, junior pitcher Kyle Ruehle, and junior outfielder Mark Johnson, along with sophomore catcher Tyler Jones.

Cherokee sophomore Matt Koch was the Braves' lone second-team All-Lakes pick.

Earning first-team Class 2A Northwest All-District honors were Ege at shortstop, Ruehle at pitcher, and Tyler Jones at catcher , while Koch (second base), Johnson (outfield), and Tim Jones (utility) were named to the second team All-District.

Kyle Ruehle

Ege batted a sizzling .553 in the Lakes Conference games and had 31 RBI. For the total season, he hit .500 with 56 RBI and eight home runs. He also was 10-0 pitching with a 1.18 ERA.

Ruehle posted a 8-1 pitching record and fashioned a 1.64 ERA, with 42 strikeouts and 10 walks in 34 innings. He also batted .423 with 26 RBI.

Johnson hit .404 and had 17 RBI in the Lakes, and hit .336 over all with 33 RBI and three home runs.

Tyler Jones

Tyler Jones hit .358 in the Lakes and had 12 RBI. Over all, he batted .410 with 20 RBI.

Koch hit .320 over all and had 26 RBI, and Tim Jones hit.380 over all and had five homers.

Other Lakes Conference first-team selections were sophomore pitcher Keith Fandel, senior catcher Chris Asman, senior infielder Kris Kirchner, senior outfielder Brad Deling, and junior utility Matt Gruhlke of Estherville-LC; senior pitcher Will Glienke, junior infielder Nick Tjebben, and junior outfielder Chris Lensing of Spencer; senior first baseman Kyle Dupic, senior outfielder Tyler Mortenson, and junior utility Ryan Wuebker of Emmetsburg; and senior infielder Mitch McCabe of Storm Lake.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: