[Masthead] Fair ~ 47°F  
High: 66°F ~ Low: 43°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Petitions due Thursday

Monday, September 24, 2007

Nomination petitions for municipal elections are due in the offices of the city clerks by 5 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 20.

All council seats are for four-year terms unless the election is to complete an unexpired term filled temporarily by appointment as noted when applicable. All seats are at-large except three seats in Cherokee each representing a ward.

Some mayor positions are for four years and some are for two years. The only mayor position not up for election this year is the mayor of Cherokee.

In Cherokee, three council seats are up for election, including the at-large seat held by Dwight Varce, a Ward 1 seat held by James Peck, and a Ward 3 seat held by Greg Stieneke.

In Aurelia terms are up for the mayor, Jeff Bowen, and council members Chuck Lindgren and Dee Keith.

In Cleghorn, terms are up for the mayor, Mick Wetherell and council members Mike Bunt, Sue Briese and Greta Petersen.

In Larrabee, terms are up for the mayor, Dan James (unexpired term), and council members Gary DeYoung and Earl Cresap (unexpired term).

In Marcus, terms are up for the mayor, Darrell Downs, and council members David Rohwer, Chuck Schmillen and Carl Nelson.

In Meriden, terms are up for the mayor, D.J. Sechler, and council members Mike Dunn and Verlee Gronemeyer.

In Quimby, terms are up for the mayor, Tim Preuss, and council members Randy Meyer and Larry Nelson.

In Washta, terms are up for the mayor, Donald Parrott, and council members Lyle Paulsen and Dana Talbert.

The municipal elections will take pla

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: