[Masthead] Fair ~ 77°F  
High: 88°F ~ Low: 54°F
Sunday, June 26, 2016

Five towns in county have contested elections

Tuesday, October 2, 2007

In the towns of Aurelia, Cherokee, Cleghorn, Larrabee and Marcus, there will be contested elections on Nov. 6. In Meriden and Washta, the names on the ballot match the number of offices up for election, while in Quimby, the mayor position will be filled by write-in vote.

All council seats are for four-year terms unless the election is to complete an unexpired term filled temporarily by appointment as noted when applicable. All seats are at-large except three seats in Cherokee each representing a ward.

Some mayor positions are for four years and some are for two years. The only mayor position not up for election this year is the mayor of Cherokee.

In Aurelia, four candidates are seeking the position of mayor. This includes incumbent mayor Jeff Bowen, former mayor Richard Vogt and two others -- Jacob Schutt and Todd A. Mummert.

There were three candidates competing for the two council seats up for election in Aurelia but one candidate withdrew this week, leaving only the incumbents Dee Keith and Chuck Lindgren on the ballot.

In Cherokee, three council seats are up for election. For the at-large seat, incumbent Dwight Varce is being challenged by Linda Burkhart. In Ward 3 incumbent Greg Stieneke is being challenged by Pamela Pierce. In Ward 1 incumbent James Peck will be unchallenged on the ballot for reelection.

In Cleghorn, Mayor, Mick Wetherell is running unopposed for reelection. The three seats up on the city council in Cleghorn are being sought by two incumbents, Susan Briese and Greta Petersen, and two others - Beckey Geerdes and Sara Lively.

Cleghorn voters will also be voting on a measure to allow Ronald Wetherell to be granted a 25-year franchise to operate a cable TV system. This is an extension of an existing franchise.

In Larrabee, Dan James, who is serving an unexpired term, is unopposed for election to complete that term. Earl Cresap is unopposed to complete an unexpired term on the Larrabee City Council that he is now serving.

There are four candidates running for two full term seats on the Larrabee City Council, including incumbent Gary De Young seeking reelection and Joan Kelly who was appointed to complete a term. Others running are Nick Ludwig and Mabeth Craft.

In Marcus, Mayor Darrell Downs is running unopposed for reelection. Four people are running for three seats on the Marcus City Council, including incumbent Carl Neslon as well as Don Drefke, Jim Ebert and Matt Schmillen.

In Meriden, Mayor D.J. Sechler is running unopposed for reelection. Two candidates are running for the two Meriden City Council seats including one incumbent, Mike Dunn, and another candidate, Debra Liddle.

In Quimby, no one has filed for election as mayor. Two candidates are running for the two Quimby City Council seats including one incumbent, Larry K. Nelson, and another candidate, Willie Allbaugh.

In Washta, the incumbents are all running unopposed for reelection. This includes Mayor Donald Parrott and council members Lyle Paulsen and Dana Talbert.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: