[Masthead] Overcast ~ 46°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Incumbents lose in Cherokee and Larrabee elections

Monday, November 12, 2007

Linda Burkhart
Most incumbents survived challenges in municipal elections in Cherokee County on Tuesday, with exceptions for the at-large Cherokee City Council race where challenger Linda Burkhart defeated incumbent Dwight Varce by a wide margin and for two at-large seats for Larrabee City Council where the one incumbent among the four candidates was not among the winners.

Vote totals are unofficial until canvassed by the Cherokee County Board of Supervisors. Names of who received write-in votes were not available Tuesday evening. Write-ins will not affect the outcome of any election except for the office of the Quimby mayor, which had no one on the ballot.

In the at-large race for Cherokee City Council, Linda Burkhart received 647 votes (72.9 percent) while Dwight Varce received 238 votes (26.8 percent). There were two write-in votes cast.

In ward 3, incumbent Greg Stieneke won reelection by a vote of 162 (53.6 percent) while Pamela Pierce received 140 votes (53.6 percent).

In ward 1, incumbent James Peck received 230 votes (62.5 percent). There were 138 write-in votes cast.

A four-way race for Aurelia mayor was easily won by the incumbent Jeff Bowen, who received 212 votes (69.5 percent). Richard Vogt received 82 votes, Jacob Schutt received 10 votes and Todd Mummert received one vote.

The incumbents were unchallenged on the ballot for reelection to the Aurelia City Council. Dee Keith received 240 votes and Chuck Lindgren received 236 votes. There were 11 write-in votes.

The three seats up on the city council in Cleghorn were won by two incumbents, Greta Petersen with 52 votes and Susan Briese with 46 votes, and by one newcomer, Sara Lively who received 33 votes. Beckey Geerdes received 21 votes. There were 27 write-in votes.

Cleghorn voters approved a measure to allow Ronald Wetherell to be granted a 25-year franchise to operate a cable TV system. This is an extension of an existing franchise. There were 47 yes votes and 11 no votes.

There were four candidates running for two full-term seats on the Larrabee City Council. Winners were Joan Kelly with 17 votes and Mabeth Kraft with 17 votes. Nick Ludwig received 14 votes and incumbent Gary DeYoung received 6 votes. There was one write-in vote.

Dan James, who is serving an unexpired term, was unopposed for election to complete that term. He received 32 votes. Earl Cresap was unopposed to complete an unexpired term on the Larrabee City Council that he is now serving. He received 30 votes.

In Marcus four people ran for three seats on the Marcus City Council. Winners include Don Drefke with 146 votes, Matt Schmillen with 142 votes and incumbent Carl Nelson with 115 votes. Jim Ebert received 65 votes.

Darrell Downs was unopposed for reelection as mayor of Marcus. He received 147 votes.

In Meriden, there were no contested seats. Mayor D.J. Sechler won reelection with 25 votes. There was one write-in vote cast.

The two candidates running for the two Meriden City Council seats included the incumbent, Mike Dunn, who received 26 votes and another candidate, Debra Liddle, who received 22 votes.

In Quimby, there were 80 write-in votes for mayor.. Two candidates ran for the two Quimby City Council seats including an incumbent, Larry K. Nelson who received 72 votes and another candidate, Willie Allbaugh, who received 50 votes. There were 46 write-in votes cast

In Washta, the incumbents all ran unopposed for reelection. Mayor Donald Parrott received 40 votes. There were 17 write-in votes for mayor. Dana Talbert received 42 votes for city council and council Lyle Paulsen receive 41 votes. There were 34 write-in votes for city council.

All council seats are for four-year terms unless the election is to complete an unexpired term filled temporarily by appointment as is the case for two seats in Larrabee as noted. All seats are at-large except three seats in Cherokee each representing a ward.

Some mayor positions are for four years and some are for two years. The only mayor position not up for election this year was the mayor of Cherokee.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: