[Masthead] Fair and Breezy ~ 83°F  
High: 86°F ~ Low: 47°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

All-NWC volleyball team announced

Monday, November 19, 2007

Aurelia's Shelby Dierenfield
Conference champion Laurens-Marathon, undefeated in league play, led the All-Northwest Conference volleyball picks this season.

L-M seniors Kacie and Kylie Woodley, and junior Jordan Sundblad were named to the first team All-NWC, along with two players each from the three teams which tied for second place in the final conference standings - Alta, Newell-Fonda, and Schaller-Crestland.

Alta was represented by juniors Kelsey Peterson and Jessy Bibler; Newell-Fonda by junior Rachel Culp and sophomore Susan Kies; and Schaller-Crestland by Katie Murra, a junior, and Roxanne Grundmeier, a freshman.

Those four teams also dominated the second team selections. Laurens-Marathon's Megan Cleveland and Shelby Heuton; Alta freshman Jordan Henningson; Newell-Fonda's Lauren Devereaux and Becky Seivert; Schaller-Crestland's Alyssa Ringgenberg and freshman Egypt Clayton were all named to the second unit, along with Sioux Central's Brooke Scharn and Pomeroy-Palmer's Melissa Engel.

Aurelia's lone pick was junior Shelby Dierenfield, who received Honorable Mention. Other athletes who received mention were Laurens-Marathon's Amanda Zylstra, Alta's Bridget Murillo and Courtney VanHaaften, Newell-Fonda's Alisa Christensen, Schaller-Crestland's Ashley Struchen, Sioux Central's Grace Rehnstrom, Pomeroy-Palmer's Jill Erickson, and Storm Lake St. Mary's Rylee Paterson.

Final Standings

1. Laurens-Marathon 7-0

2. Alta 5-2



5. Sioux Central 3-4

6. Pomeroy-Palmer 2-5

7. Aurelia 1-6

8. SL St. Mary's 0-7

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: