[Masthead] Mostly Cloudy ~ 58°F  
High: 78°F ~ Low: 57°F
Friday, May 27, 2016

SOS has eight All-District picks

Monday, December 3, 2007

Wolverines feature six first-team selections

South O'Brien placed six football players on the 2007 Class 1A, District I, All-District first team, and two more on the All-District second team, it was announced this week.

Earning first-team honors for the Wolverines are senior running back Aaron Giese, senior tight end Ross Fernstrum, senior offensive lineman Cory Marsh, senior defensive lineman Derek Hurtig, senior defensive back Nic Faust, and senior kicker Nic Steffens.

Named to the All-District second team are senior running back Thor Klinker, and senior offensive lineman Brian Tjossem.

SOS Honorable Mention honors went to senior Andy Puhrmann, and sophomore Pete Matthews.

In addition, nine Wolverines earned Academic All-District first-team honors (3.5 to 4.0 GPA), including Fernstrum, Giese, Klinker, Luke Lenhart, Marsh, Tjossem, Travis Sump, Andy Puhrmann, and Brad Penning.

Honorable mention Academic All-District honors (3.25-3.46) went to Faust, and Walter Kummerfeld. Academic All-District cheerleaders included SOS's Paige Nieuwenhuis, Ashlai Tilley, and Ashley Wright.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: