[Masthead] Overcast ~ 44°F  
High: 48°F ~ Low: 43°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Mat Braves toppled twice

Tuesday, December 4, 2007

Cherokee's Nick Loughlin, a two-time state qualifier, is in full control of Maple Valley/Anthon-Oto's Nathan Rodenberg during the Braves double wrestling dual in Cherokee on Nov. 27. Photo by Paul Struck
Five open weights costly to Cherokee

The youthful Cherokee Braves, with just two seniors in the lineup, toppled twice in their 2007-2008 wrestling debut here Tuesday night, falling 63-18 to Maple Valley/Anthon-Oto, and 51-19 to MOC-Floyd Valley.

The Braves failed to fill five weight classes, thereby giving up 30 points to their opponents in both matches.

Cherokee's Tyler Lundsgaard throws Maple Valley/Anthon-Oto's Joey Collins to the mat on his way to a win by fall at Cherokee's double wrestling dual here Tuesday night. MVAO coach Casey Conover, background, shouts encouragement to Collins
Three Cherokee grapplers won by fall in the MVAO match, with two-time state quaifier Nick Loughlin winning by fall at 152 pounds, Luke Pearson winning by fall at 160, and Tyler Lundsgaard winning by fall at 171. Loughlin is a senior, as is heavyweight Tim Jones, who is out with a leg injury sustained during the football season.

"New MVAO head coach Casey Conover had his team ready to go," said Cherokee coach Jason Wood. "We give up too many open weights. We were 3-6 in the matches we wrestled."

Conover is a former repeat state wrestling qualifier who prepped at Galva-Holstein.

In JV action for Cherokee, Manny Bustos and Gordy Gill lost by fall at 152 pounds, and Patrick Loughlin dropped an 8-4 decision at 160.

"We looked better in the second dual," added Wood. "Our conditioning is not quite where we would like it to be."

The Braves travel to Milford Saturday for the Okoboji Invitational.

MVAO 63, C 18

103 - Colby Mauch, MVAO, won by forfeit.

112 - Tony Bertelsen, MVAO, won by forfeit.

119 - Michael Jepsen, MVAO, won by forfeit.

125 - Tim Dougherty, MVAO, pinned Matt Sparks :54.

130 - Issac Berry, MVAO, won by forfeit.

135 - Colton Holton, MVAO, won by forfeit.

140 - Kyle Llivermore, MVAO, beat Calvin Conley 10-4.

145 - Zach Schoenfeld, MVAO, pinned Stephen Veit 3:44.

152 - Nick Loughlin, C, pinned Nathan Rodenberg 1:56.

160 - Luke Pearson, C, pinned Jon Wimmer 1:07.

171 - Tyler Lundsgaard, C, pinned Joey Collins 3:43.

189 - Kevin Zimmerman, MVAO, pinned Dillon Devitt 4:26.

215 - Sam Hanson, MVAO, pinned Peter Cosgrove :59.

Hwt - Beau Hanson, MVAO, pinned Eric Van Roekel :33.

MOC-FV 51, C 19

103 - Etan Lambert, MOC-FV, won by forfeit.

112 - Open.

119 - Austin Te Brink, MOC-FV won by forfeit.

125 - Trenton Korver, MOC-FV, pinned Sparks 1:13.

130 - Chris Gianopoulis, MOC-FV, won by forfeit.

135 - Joe Reinders, MOC-FV, won by forfeit.

140 - Conley, C, beat Adam Vogel 14-0.

145 - Veit, C, beat Chris Hubers 6-3.

152 - Loughlin, C, won by forfeit.

160 - Geoff OOlman, MOC-FV, beat Pearson 5-2.

171 - Lundsgaard, C, won by forfeit.

189 - Taylor Whitt, MOC-FV, pinned devitt :39.

215 - Nick Vander Zwaag, MOC-FV, pinned Cosgrove :53.

Hwt - Kyle Boersma, MOC-FV, pinned Van Roekel :14.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: