[Masthead] Overcast and Breezy ~ 44°F  
High: 47°F ~ Low: 40°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

AGHSC 2nd at S-O mat invite

Monday, December 17, 2007

Russ Godbersen of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn controls Sibley-Ocheyedan's Justin Truckenmiller on his way to winning a championship at Saturday's Sibley-Ocheyedan Wrestling Invitational. Photo contributed
Loughlin, Parker, Yearous, Lehnhoff, Godbersen are champs

SIBLEY - The host Sibley-Ocheyedan Generals captured the team title of their own Wrestling Invitational here Saturday, totaling 247 points, to runner-up Aurelia/Galva-Holstein/Schaller-Crestland (AGHSC), which scored 167.

Sheldon-South O'Brien was third with 139, followed by Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn 112, Graettinger-Terril 111, Alta 97, Cherokee 95, West Lyon 82, and MOC-Floyd Valley 56.

Seven of Cherokee's nine wrestlers competing placed in the tournament, with two-time state qualifier Nick Loughlin winning the 152-pound weight class. Cherokee's Tyler Lundsgaard placed second at 171 pounds, and Calvin Conley (140), and Patrick Loughlin (160) finished fourth.

Other Cherokee places went to Matt Sparks fifth place at 119, Dillon Devitt fifth at 189, and Peter Cosgrove sixth at 215.

Nick Loughlin had a first-round bye, and then pinned Ryan Sawyer of Alta in 38 seconds, and beat MMC's Jerad Letsche 11-1 in the finals to win at 152.

Lundsgaard pinned KC Weaver of Sheldon-SOS in 50 seconds, beat Jason Glienke of AGHSC 8-5, and lost by fall in 2:23 to champion Max Eddy of S-O.

Conley pinned Kurt Kruger of Sheldon-SOS in 5:10, won by injury default over Nathanial Robbins of Alta, and lost a 7-0 decision in the finals to MMC's Ben Mayer.

Pat Loughlin was pinned by Brian Block of S-O in 59 seconds, pinned Kasey Sievers of Alta in 19 seconds, won by injury default over Evan Ascherl of Sheldon-SOS, and lost 8-4 to Josh Schwanz of AGHSC.

Devitt was 2-2 in his matches, pinning Jordan Carlson of Alta in 56 seconds, and winning by injury default over Jordan Petersen of MMC. Cosgrove was 1-3, pinning Westb Lyon's Dillon Schmidt in 52 seconds. Sparks was 0-2 for the day.

"It was a good day for us," said Cherokee coach Jason Wood. "We placed seventh with five open weight classes. Tyler Lundsgaard had a great tournament and Nick was a champion and won his 100th varsity match."

Runner-up AGHSC crowned two champs in Adam Parker at 130, and Kyle Yearous at 140. Vance Kreutz was second at 112, as was heavyweight Adam Dreeszen. AGHSC thirds went to Tyler Kenney at 125, and Josh Schwanz at 160.

Parker beat Houston Hieronimus of S-O 11-6 in the finals, while Yearous beat S-O's Ted Kruger 12-3 in the finals. Runner-ups Kreutz was pinned in the finals by Chris Helm of Sheldon-SOS in 28 seconds, and Dreeszen was pinned by S-O's Jay Kruger in 3:32 in the finals.

Kenny pinned Blayke Stevens of West Lyon in 40 seconds for third, while teammate Schwanz nicked Pat Loughlin 8-4 for third.

MMC crowned two titleists in Jacob Lehnhoff at 125, and Russ Godbersen at 135. Lehnhoff beat Steven Brockshus of S-O 7-1 for his title, and Godbersen beat S-O's Justin Truckenmiller 3-2 in the finals.

Jerad Letsche finished second at 152 pounds, after a 11-1 loss to Cherokee's Nick Loughlin in the finals, and Eagle Ben Mayer placed third at 140 after beating Cherokee's Calvin Conley 7-0 in the consolation match.

Placing fifth for MMC were Blaine Dammann at 145, Taylor Wetzel at 160, and Luke Dreckman at 215. Finishing sixth were Jeff Tentinger at 130, and Jordan Petersen at 189.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: