[Masthead] Fair ~ 67°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 53°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

S-O wins 'Fuhrman' mat invitational

Wednesday, December 26, 2007

MMC's Russ Godberson has his hand raised in victory on the way to claiming the 135-pound championship at the Dec. 15 Paul Fuhrmann Invitational in Cherokee. Photo by Paul Struck
Braves Loughlin & Jones, MMC's Lehnhoff & Godbersen champs

Talented and deep Sibley-Ocheyedan ran away with the team title of the Paul Fuhrman Wrestling Invitational in Cherokee Saturday, totaling 245.5 points to runner-up Odebolt-Arthur/Battle Creek-Ida Grove's 161.

Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn was third with 160.5 points, followed by MOC-Floyd Valley 107, Cherokee 96, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn 88, Hull Western Christian 67, Sioux Central 36, and East Sac County 36.

Cherokee heavyweight Tim Jones, left, has his hand raised in victory by the official while a disconsolate Scott Hoefling of Odebolt-Arthur/Battle Creek-Ida Grove prepares to exit the mat. Jones won the heavyweight title Saturday at the Paul Fuhrman Wrestling Invitational in Cherokee. Photo by Paul Struck
The host Braves featured two champions in Nick Loughlin at 152 pounds, and Tim Jones at heavyweight.

Other Cherokee place winners included Steve Veit third at 145, Tyler Lundsgaard fourth at 171, Calvin Conley fourth at 140, Eric Van Roekel fifth at 189, and Pat Loughlin fifth at 160.

After a first-round bye, Nick Loughlin registered a 19-3 technical fall over Brandon Ackerman of Sibley-Ocheyedan, and a 16-1 technical fall over Tyler Down of OA-BCIG to win his weight class.

Jones, claiming the first championship of his WHS career, pinned Matt Hoefling of OA-BCIG in 1:11, pinned Tim Smith of MOC-FV in 36 seconds, and beat fifth-rated Jay Kruger of S-O 6-0 in the finals.

Veit pinned Ben Lansink of OA-BCIG in 2:43, lost 5-1 to Blaine Dammann of MMC, beat Kyler Wilkerson of HMS 7-2, and beat Chris Hubers of MOC-FV 6-4 for his third-place finish.

Lundsgaard and Conley each rang up 2-2 records with a bye for their fourth-place finishes. Pat Loughlin was 2-2 for his fifth place finish, and Van Roekel 0-2.

"Nick stay unbeaten going into the Christmas break with a 10-0 dual record," noted Cherokee coach Jason Wood. "Tin wrestled great and ran his record to 5-0 after missing early season with a leg injury from football."

MMC featured two champions and two runners-up for their fine showing in the tourney.

Winning titles for the Eagles were Jacob Lehnhoff at 125 pounds, and Russ Godbersen at 135. Blaine Damman was second at 145, and Jordan Petersen second at 189.

Lehnhoff won three matches, including a 6-3 decision, a 24-second pin, and a pin in 1:42 over Dan Billings of OA-BCIG in the finals.

Godbersen also won three matches, including a 34-second pin, a 5:00 pin, and a 7-0 decision over Justin Truckenmiller of S-O in the finals.

Dammann was second with a bye, a 5-1 decision over Veit of Cherokee, and then a loss by decision to Shaun Ludwig of S-O in the finals. Petersen won by a pin in 23 seconds, a pin in 2:50, and then was pinned in the finals by Taylor Whitt of MOC-FV in the finals.

MMC had three third-place finishers in Ben Mayer at 140, Jerad Letsche at 160, and Luke Dreckman at 215. Mayer was 2-1 with a bye for the day, Letsche was 3-1, and Dreckman finished 3-1 with two byes.

Taylor Witzel at 152, and Dan Holmes at heavyweight each placed fourth for the Eagles, while Jeff Tentinger was fifth at 130.

"I'm very proud of these guys," said MMC coach Steve Phillips. "This is the first time in my coaching career that we had everyone on the team go home from a tournament with medals in hand. That's just a great feeling."

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: