[Masthead] Fair ~ 49°F  
High: 85°F ~ Low: 47°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Braves drop double mat dual

Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Loughlin, Jones remain undefeated

LE MARS - The Cherokee Braves came out on the short end of a tough Lakes Conference wrestling double dual here Thursday night, dropping a 48-26 verdict to Spirit Lake Park, and falling 57-14 to host Le Mars.

Cherokee's #2-ranked Nick Loughlin stayed undefeated for the season after recording two technical falls at 152 pounds, running his shiny season mark to 22-0. The Braves heavyweight Tim Jones also stayed perfect with two falls for the night to boast a 14-0 record. Jones missed some of the early season due to a football injury. Both are seniors.

Once again, the Braves gave up considerable team points, sacrificing six open weights accounting for 36 points in each match due to lack of numbers and/or injury.

A double winner for the Braves besides Loughlin and Jones was Steve Veit, who caimed both his matches at 145 pounds.

In JV action for Cherokee, Manny Bustos won by fall and lost by fall at 152 pounds, and Gordy Gill lost by decision, also at 152 pounds.

"We actually matched up well against Spirit Lake Park, but did not match up as well with Le Mars," noted Cherokee coach Jason Wood. "Our usual open weights really hurt us, but in the seven matches we wrestled, we won four against SLP. We have a big weekend in Ida Grove wrestling with 21 teams in the BCIG INvitational (Friday and Saturday)."

SLP 48, C 26

103 - Lewis Johnson, SLP, won by forfeit

112 - Open

119 - Matt Sparks, C, won by forfeit

125 - Derrick Minor, SLP, won by forfeit

130 - Dillon Minor, SLP, won by forfeit

135 - Grant Willard, SLP, won by forfeit

140 - Brandon Griffin, SLP, won by forfeit

145 - Stave Veit, C, beat Cullen Andrea 15-0 (technical fall)

152 - Nick Loughlin, C, beat Nick Schultze 20-5 (technical fall)

160 - Pat Loughlin, C, beat Brett Goldtrap 17-7 (major)

171 - Rick Wilson, SLP, pinned danny Bieber 3:21

189 - Brad Engel, SLP, pinned Dillon Devitt 1:12

215 - Alex Will, SLP, pinned Peter Cosgrove 1:12

Hwt - Tim Jone, C, pinned Wade Franek 3:16

L 57, C 14

103 - Open

112 - Palani Permeswaran, L, won by fofeit

119 - Quiinton Vore, L, pinned Sparks 1:55

125 - Drew Lindsey, L, won by forfeit

130 - Anthony Schimek, K, won by forfeit

135 - Zach Reed, L, won by forfeit

140 - Ivan Naranjo, L, won by forfeit

145 - Veit, C, beat Alex Klein 11-6

152 - Loughlin, C, beat Brayton Ringsdorff 21-4 (technical fall)

160 - Ben Beitelspacher, L, beat Loughlin 8-5

171 - Zach Dimmick, L, pinned Bieber 3:30

189 - Spencer Vore, L, pinned Devitt 2:40

215 - Andrew Pritchard, L, pinned Cosgrove 3:00

Hwt - Jones, C, pinned Chris Stevenson 3:32

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: