[Masthead] Overcast ~ 43°F  
High: 46°F ~ Low: 44°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

MMC wrestlers lose two duals

Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn's Luke Dreckman tries to turn Tony Blankers of MOC-Floyd Valley during a wrestling double dual in Orange City Tuesday night. Photo contributed
Letsche, Lehnhoff, Mayer double winners

ORANGE CITY - The Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn grapplers dropped a double dual here Tuesday night, falling 42-36 to Storm Lake, and 42-28 to MOC-Floyd Valley.

One of the few teams around that fills all the weight classes, the Tornadoes also beat MOC-FV 46-24.

Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn heavyweight Dan Holmes works to control Tim Smits of MOC-Floyd Valley in double dual wrestling action Tuesday night in Orange City. Photo contributed
The night didn't last very long as the Eagles gave up six open-weight forfeits in each dual, competing in eight matches against Storm Lake, and just six against MOC-FV, which wrestled with three open weights.

Jerad Letsche was a double-pin winner for MMC at 160 pounds, while Jacob Lehnhoff won by fall and major decision at 130, and Ben Mayer won by fall and decision at 145.

Pin winners for MMC also included Blaine Dammann at 171, Jordan Petersen at 189, and Dan Holmes at heavyweight.

The Eagles wrestle at Kingsley-Pierson Monday and then enter Class 1A Sectionals the following Saturday at Moville. The top two finishers in each weight class in Sectionals will then wrestle in 1A Districts Saturday, Feb. 9, at West Sioux Hawarden.

SL 42, MMC 36

103 - Gabriel Torres, SL, won by forfeit

112 - Miguel Rodriguez, SL, won by forfeit

119 - Chris Reis, SL, won by forfeit

125 - Jose Diaz, SL, won by forfeit

130 - Jacob Lehnhoff, MMC, pinned Michael Mohr 1:14

135 - Eddie Rios, SL, won by forfeit

140 - Patrick Higgins, SL, won by forfeit

145 - Ben Mayer, MMC, beat Ryan Lovestad 6-1

152 - Ben Seaman, SL, pinned Taylor Witzel 4:23

160 - Jerad Letsche, MMC, pinned Tony Pertzborn :42

171 - Blaine Dammann, MMC, pinned Jose Ramos 4:45

189 - Jordan Petersen, MMC, pinned Doug Dimig :51

215 - Luje Dreckman, MMC, beat Juan Flores 11-8

Hwt - Dan Holmes, MMC, pinned Jorge Hernandez :56

MOC-FV 42, MMC 28

103 - Etan Lambert, MOC-FV won by forfeit

112 - Austin Te Brink, MOC-FV, won by forfeit

119 - Trenton Korver, MOC-FV, won by forfeit

125 - Open

130 - Lehnhoff, MMC, beat Joe Reinders 16-5

135 - Scott Thompson, MOC-FV, won by forfeit

140 - Josh Van Wyk, MOC-FV, won by forfeit

145 - Mayer, MMC, pinned Chris Hubers :55

152 - Witzel, MMC, won by forfeit

160 - Dammann, MMC, won by forfeit

171 - Letsche, MMC, pinned Jeff Van Voort 3:59

189 - Taylor Whitt, MOC-FV, pinned Petersen 5:19

215 - Tony Blankers, MOC-FV, beat Dreckman 7-2

Hwt - Tim Smits, MOC-FV, beat Holmes 3-1

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: