[Masthead] Overcast ~ 44°F  
High: 48°F ~ Low: 43°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

12 area wrestlers to districts

Monday, February 11, 2008

Loughlin, Jones, Godbersen win Sectional titles

Cherokee Washington's Nick Loughlin ran his spotless mark to 33-0 in capturing the Class 2A 152-pound championship at the sectional meet in Sheldon on Feb. 2, and teammate Tim Jones won the heavyweight championship, running his season mark to 22-3.

The two Braves were among 12 Chronicle Times area wrestlers who advanced to their respective District meets on Feb. 9 by finishing first or second at their Sectional meets.

Cherokee's Nick Loughlin, left, and Tim Jones proudly display their championship pairings after winning their respective weight classes at the Class 2A Sectional in Sheldon Saturday. The Braves wrestle in 2A Districts in Cherokee beginning at noon on Feb. 9. The top two finshers in each weight will advance to the State Tournament in Des Moines. Photo contributed
Other Braves with impressive Sectional performances included Pat Loughlin at 160 pounds, and Peter Cogrove at 215, both finishing a respectable third. Loughlin finished 1-1 with a first-round bye, and Cosgrove was 2-2, with two falls to his credit.

Steve Veit at 145, and Tyler Lundsgaard at 171 placed fourth, each going 1-2 in matches on the day.

"We wrestled well and Nick and Tim were great," said Cherokee coach Jason Wood. "Steve was so close to making the finals, and Pat wrestled tough for us. The big suprise of the day was (freshman) Peter Cosgrove. He had a great day."

Four SOS/Sheldon wrestlers will also move on from the Sheldon Sectional. Chris Helms was the 112-pound winner, while Josh Ihnen (189) and Pete Matthews (215) also captured championships. Thor Klinker was a runner-up at 171 pounds.

Adam Dreeszen of AGHSC pins Jordan Johnsen of Sergeant Bluff-Luton in Class 2A Sectionals action in Ida Grove Saturday. The heavyweight Sectional runner-up qualified for Districts in Council Bluffs on Feb. 9. Photo by Reta Todd
SOS/Sheldon finished second in the team standings with 187 points, trailing champion Sibley-Ocheydan's 255.5. Cherokee was fifth, scoring a even 100 points.

At the Sectional at Battle Creek-Ida Grove, the Aurelia/Galva-Holstein/Schaller-Crestland Stonecutters finished fourth in the team standings, scoring 174.5 points, as Battle Creek-Ida Grove/Odebolt-Arthur took team honors with 279 points. Sergeant Bluff-Luton finished second with 198.5 points.

The AGHSC coaches were "a little disappointed" with their team's results, but four Stonecutters did capture runner-up spots, and will advance to Saturday's District meet - Adam Parker at 130 , Kyle Yearous at 140, Seth Bruce at 215, and Adam Dreeszen at heavyweight.

Yearous garned his 100th career victory at the meet.

Other placings for AGHSC were: third - Vance Kreutz (112) and Josh Schwanz (152); fourth - Ryan Donahoo (119), Tyler Kenny (125), Steve White (135), Nick Felten (145), Jason Glienke (160), and Cory Naberhaus (171). Ronnie Huseman (103) and Kody Pinkerton (189) finished fifth in their weight classes.

Ben Mayer of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn works hard to pin his opponent in recent wrestling action. Mayer was runner-up at the Class 1A Sectionals on Feb. 2, to qualify for Districts in Hawarden on Feb. 9. Photo contributed
At the Class 1A Sectional Meet in Moville, Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn finished seventh in the team standings, scoring 82 points. Lawton-Bronson and Woodbury Central finished 1-2, respectively.

Individually, MMC sophomore Russ Godbersen was the 135-pound champion, while senior Ben Mayer was the runner-up at 140. Jerad Letsche placed third at 152, while Blaine Dammann at 160, and heavyweight Dan Holmes were fourth for the Eagles.

Washington High School will serve as the site of a Class 2A District Meet Saturday, and the Cherokee and SOS/Sheldon wrestlers will compete in that meet, which begins at noon.

The four AGHSC wrestlers will wrestle at the Mid-America Center in Council Bluffs, starting at 11 a.m.

MMC's Godberson and Mayer will compete at the 1A District at West Sioux in Hawarden, beginning at noon.

Admission for all District Meets is $5 for adults and $4 for students.

First and second place winners at the Districts will advance to the State Wrestling Meet at the Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines Wednesday through Saturday Feb. 13-16.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: