[Masthead] Overcast ~ 43°F  
High: 55°F ~ Low: 45°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

MMC basketball awards announced

Wednesday, March 19, 2008

MARCUS - The Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn girls basketball squad was honored recently at the 2007-2008 post-season Awards Banquet.

Eight Eagles received varsity letters for the season, including seniors Samantha Taylor, Kaylee Dreckman, and Jessica Zubrod. Taylor and Dreckman earned their fourth varsity letters, playing extensively on varsity throughout their prep careers, while Zubrod earned her third letter.

Five sophomores also lettered for MMC, inclding Rachel McDermott (her second varsity letter), Jena Mittlestadt, Melissa Tabke, Ashley Schneider, and Robyn Cave. Freshmen Kelsey Sears and Nicole Morgan also lettered.

Special team awards included Taylor, Offensive Player Award, Defensive Player Award, and Hustle Award; McDermott, Defensive Player Award; Morgan, Most Improved Award; Sears, Newcolmer Award; Mittlestadt Sixth Starter Award; and Tabke, Practice Player Award.

Taylor, Dreckman, and Zubrod served as co-captains this season.

Taylor, a second-team All-War Eagle Conference pick, set new school records with 48 three-point field goals, breaking her own mark of 44 set last season, and career three-pointers with 143, breaking the old record set by Miranda Boekhout.

Dreckman earned Honorable Mention All-WEC honors.

The Eagles were coached by Shane Williams, who was assisted by Ric Collins.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: