[Masthead] Fair ~ 51°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 55°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Vaske wins Aurelia Men's Open

Monday, June 9, 2008

AURELIA - P.J. Vaske shot a 27-hole score of 105 (35-35-35) to capture first place in the Championship Flight at last weekend's Aurelia Men's Open.

Brian Lockin
Former Aurelia High School golfers Eric Sonksen, Derrick Sleezer, Brian Lockin and Bill Weathers took the next four places in the Championship Flight. Sonksen shot a 34-37-36 for a 107, two strokes behind the winner. Sleezer was third with a 109 (40-35-34); and Lockin (38-36-37) and Weathers (34-36-41) shot 111.

Tom James (114), John Owen (116) and Randy Braunschweig (121) completed the Championship Flight field.

Collin Christensen, Al Lockin, and James Olson all posted 27-hole totals of 114 to top the Presidential Flight, edging out Doug Lockin's 115.

First Flight honors went to Joey Post, with an 18-hole score of 78 (38-40). Ryan Kolpin was second with a 79 (41-38), followed by Neil Huseman, Steve Brock, Greg Kolpin and Tim Gum with 80s, and Ben Lockin, Rick Kolpin, Mark Robb, Bob Jensen, Doug Williams and Ben Eben, all of whom posted scores of 81.

Second Flight went to Paul Hyndman, Charlie Lockin and Jarett Heubrock, all of whom totaled 82 strokes; Mike Tracy was a stroke behind, followed by Nick Felten, Stan Sitzman, Ray Team, Dan Schuver, Ed Rude, Kollin Peterson, Kyle Nitchals and Grey Frederickson.

Third Flight winner was John Lockin, who shot an 85 (36-49). Kevin Bengtson and Dave Patton both shot an 86.

Rob Kannegieter, Orly Webb and Cody Cedar topped the 4th Flight, each posting a 92, and Vern Rath took the Fifth Flight with a score of 96. Doug Radke, Johnny Johnson and Mike Kelly all shot a 97.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: