[Masthead] Fair ~ 39°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Schroeder maintains 'Sioux Valley' medalist lead

Monday, June 16, 2008

Marty Wrage of Cherokee keeps his head down properly as his driver makes contact during last week's qualifying for the 74th annual Sioux Valley Amateur Men's Match-Play Golf Tournament, played at the Cherokee Golf & Country Club on June 15 and June 16. Photo by Paul Struck
Mapleton golfer's 66 lowest qualifying round in history

Kent Schroeder of Mapleton and his six-under par 66, the lowest qualifying round to date in the history of the 74th annual Sioux Valley Amateur Men's Match-Play Golf Tournament, maintained his medalist lead for qualifiers for the popular Cherokee tourney schuedeled for Saturday and Sunday at the beautiful Cherokee Golf & Country Club.

Schroeder led all qualifiers through mid-afternoon Wednesday with his stunning 18-hole score of 66 over the venerable, well-manicured Country Club course. The previous low medalist round was a 67.

Derek Schroeder of Mapleton and Nick Dreckman of Le Mars carded 74s to stand in second place in the medalist race.

Three notable golfers carded 75s to undoubtedly punch their ticket to the Championship Flight, including two-time Sioux Valley champion Todd Sapp (2005-2006) of Sioux City, Cherokee native Jeff Campbell of Niles, Ohio, and former Cherokean Craig Johnson of West Des Moines.

Other top qualifying scores through Wednesday afternoon included Jesse Lewter of Harrisburg, S.D. 76, Aurelia native Eric Sonksen of West Des Moines 77, Sam Doerr of South Sioux City, Neb. 77, Cherokee Braves golf coach James DeVos of Cherokee 77, Jeff Sailor of Moville 78, James Olson of Sergeant Bluff 78, Seth Schroeder of Coralville 78, and Jason Spooner of Cherokee 78.

Cherokee natives Dave Greenwood of Omaha, Neb., and Curt Johnson of Spirit Lake, along with Brian Lockin of Aurelia, each carded a 79, and former Sioux Valley Am champion Dennis Nelson of Cherokee shot an 80. Also scoring 80 in their qualifying rounds were Jon Miller of Cherokee, Nick Tanner of Sheldon, and Nick Peterson of Correctionville.

Qualifying rounds continue through Friday, with the final time for 18-hole rounds 1 p.m. that day, and for nine holes 3 p.m.

There will be 16 golfers to a flight, with the Championship and First Flight matches consisting of 18-hole competition. Flights 2-7 will be 9-hole matches.

J.D. Anderson of West Des Moines is the 2007 champion and was expected to qualify on June 12 or 13.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: