[Masthead] Fog/Mist ~ 38°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 41°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

City accepts signs

Monday, June 16, 2008

The Cherokee City Council accepted with gratitude an offer for the donation of "Cherokee" signs to be placed at the four primary city entrances, one to placed each year over a period of four years.

The signs would be given free of charge as a joint effort of Holton Custom Signs, Heg Painting, Harmon Masonry, and Menke Construction.

The city will need to determine locations for the signs. There was some discussion on this at the June 10th Council meeting, but no decisions were made.


The city also accepted a donation of a cleared lot on West Elm Street for use by the fire department. The lot, located across the street from the fire department, was donated by Chad Carey.

The council accepted a bid of $141,548 for a truck body to be placed on a chassis purchased separately. The bid from Maintainer Custom Bodies, Inc. of Rock Rapids for the truck body was the lowest price of the three bids submitted.

It will be used for a walk-in rescue truck for the fire department.

The council approved closing of East Main Street on Saturday, June 28, for a street dance.

Kevin Meister, owner of a property at 110 Hickory Street, protested a nuisance abatement notice for his property. He said that the property is being leased to two people who are operating a commercial business there. They do welding.

The council informed Meister that whether or not the property is being used as a business, vehicles must be licensed and operating to be parked on the property and other matters need to be taken care of.

The council decided that notice will be given directly to the tenants as well as the property owner, but any financial assessment against the property for abating the nuisance would be the responsibility of the property owner.

The council approved a slate of nominees for three-year terms on the board of directors for the Cherokee Area Economic Development Corporation. These are Ramona Nitz, Mark Hecox, Tim Haupert, Mike Haupert, Brian Freed, Mike Dunn and Terry Graybill.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: