[Masthead] Light Rain ~ 42°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 42°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Area school Districts to hold elections Sept. 9

Thursday, August 28, 2008

The Cherokee County Auditor's office advises that Absentee Ballots for the upcoming Aurelia, Cherokee and Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn School Elections are now available in the auditor's office located in the Cherokee County Courthouse.

If you are unable to vote on the scheduled Election Day, Sept. 9, you may come to the Auditor's office and vote, or you may request in writing an absentee ballot be mailed to you.

You may vote absentee through Sept. 8. Ballots returned by mail must be postmarked by Sept. 8, or you may hand deliver you voted ballot to the Auditor's office by 8 a.m. on Sept. 9.

The Auditor's office reminds you that voter pre-registration closes at 5 p.m. Aug. 29.

The Cherokee and River Valley districts have contested elections this fall, while the Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn and the Aurelia districts do not.

In the Cherokee School District, three candidates will compete for two at-large seats on the school board, while in the River Valley District, there are three candidates seeking the one at-large seat up for election, and no one has filed to be elected to the RV District 4 seat that is to be filled for the last year of an unexpired term,

In the Cherokee District, the terms are expiring for Kirk Sampson and Deb Johnson, and both incumbents are seeking re-election. Jack Creel is also on the ballot.

In the River Valley District, Lyle Paulsen has filed to be re-elected to his at-large seat, and is being challenged by Alan Phred Linn and Adam J. Petty. The director district 4-seat was vacated and was filled by the appointment of John Anfinson. Anfinson has not filed for the election to complete the final year of the term, nor has anyone else.

In the MMC School District, the only area school board to have seven, rather than five, Board members, Karla Prunty, the incumbent in director district 5, and Vernon Letsche, the incumbent in director district 6, are both running for re-election unopposed. Eric Wester is not running for re-election in director district 4, and Brian Mugge will be running for that seat unopposed.

In the Aurelia District, Dan Winterhof is running for re-election and Brad Rohwer is seeking election for the first time. Susan Corderman is not seeking reelection.

On Sept. 9, Election Day, both the Aurelia School District and Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn School District polls will be open from noon to 8 p.m,, and the Cherokee School District polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: