[Masthead] Fair ~ 38°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 41°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Johnson, Creel, Paulsen get school board nods

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Deb Johnson
Incumbent Deb Johnson and challenger Jack Creel claimed the two open seats on the Cherokee School Board at the Sept. 9 Cherokee School Board elections.

Of the 860 total votes cast, Johnson received 355, and Creel 264. Incumbent Kirk Sampson, seeking his third term on the Board, received 240 votes.

In the only other contested School Board election in Cherokee County, the River Valley District, which is based in Woodbury County (Correctionville), elected incumbent Lyle Paulsen to an at-large seat.

Jack Creel
Paulsen, who had received an unofficial 143 votes at press time Tuesday night, was challenged this election by Phred Linn (47 votes), and Adam J. Petty (25 votes).

For River Valley's vacant District 4 Director, John Anfinson had served as interim and did not seek re-election to fill the one year remaining on that term. With not all precincts reporting at press time, Don McCrea led that write-in effort with 16 votes, followed by Ånfinson with nine, Alan Todd six, and Pam Briese four.

In the Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn and Aurelia Districts in Cherokee County, the candidates were unopposed.

Lyle Paulsen
For MMC District 4, Brian Mugge received 84 votes; for MMC District 5, Karla Prunty received 89 votes; and for MMC District 6, Vernon Letsche received 80 votes.

For the at-large seats in Aurelia, Bradley Rohwer and Dan Winterhof each received 49 votes.

The votes totals are unofficial until canvassed by the Cherokee County Board of Supervisors and, for River Valley, the Woodbury County Board of Supervisors.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: