[Masthead] Partly Cloudy ~ 79°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 57°F
Thursday, June 30, 2016

Supervisors verify election results

Thursday, September 18, 2008

The Cherokee County Board of Supervisors met on Sept. 12 at the lower level of the Cherokee County Court House. Due to the County School Board Elections held on Tuesday, the Board moved its regularly scheduled meeting to Friday to canvass the school Election Results.

The Board heard from Jody Haupert of the County Auditors Office, who read the results from Tuesday's election. Only 623 ballots were cast, out of 7,735 registered voters in Cherokee County , a voter turnout of just 8.05 %.

The Board signed off on each precinct, and verified each seat that was up for election.

The Cherokee District At Large was verified for 264 votes for Jack Creel and 355 votes for Deb Johnson. Kirk Sampson received 240 votes and there was one write in vote.

Voters in the Aurelia District At Large cast 49 votes for Bradley Rohwer and 49 votes for Dan Winterhof. There were two write in votes.

Voters in the Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn District 4 cast 84 for Brian Mugge and there were eight write-in votes.

Voters in the Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn District 5 cast 89 votes for Karla Prunty and there were two write in votes.

Voters in the Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn District 6 cast 80 votes for Vernon Letsche and there were four write in votes.

Other business for the Board was the approval of last week's agenda and minutes and claims.

Dave Shanahan, County Engineer, addressed the Board on general business. Shanahan discussed the need to go over some of the county's short and long-term road projects.

The Board received the 2008 jail inspection report. The report summarized that the jail is doing a great job considering the changing demands in law enforcement. The jail was inspected on Aug 19 by the Iowa Department of Corrections.

The Board then approved an address change for the Local Public Health Contract. Currently all billing goes to the CRMC. The address change will bring all billing to the Court House.

The Board also welcomed Kris Witcombe, a new employee in the County Auditors office.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: