[Masthead] Fair ~ 61°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 43°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Citizen of the Year nominations sought

Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Wayne Morris (left) is pictured next to John Cook. Morris is last year's winner of the Cherokee "Citizen of the Year" and Cook was the winner in 2006. The annual Citizen of the Year is recognized for the person's significant contribution to the betterment of the entire Cherokee Community. File photo
Nominations for Cherokee's "Citizen of the Year" award are now being accepted at City Hall.

The award, which has been given annually since 1990, recognizes an "individual who has made a significant contribution to the betterment of the entire community, outside of their chosen trade or profession."

Nominations may be submitted to City Hall, located at 416 W. Main St. in Cherokee, or they may be FAXed to 712-225-2803, or e-mailed to cityckech@evertek.net . The deadline for submitting nominations is January 23, 2009.

When the nominations are all in, a Mayor's Committee, which consists of representatives from city or county government, industry, schools, ministers, service organizations, medical professionals, and business people, will select this year's recipient, and the award will be presented to the recipient by Mayor Pam Pierce at the annual CAEDC Recognition Banquet on March 14th, 2009.

The following, listed in chronological order beginning with the 1990 recipient, are the past recipients of this prestigious award : Earl Pickens, Don Agostine, E.T. Parker; Joan Ballantyne; Jim Bleakly; Wayne and Marlys Woolridge; Joe Lundsgaard, David Sayre, Tom and Jean Miller, DuWayne Rupp, R.J. and Doris Thomas, Wilma Starkey, Jim Adamson, LeRoy "Herb" Ford, Mark Minger, Sherry Held, John Cook Jr., and last year's recipient, Wayne Morris.

Mayor Pierce thanks everyone who has supported this program through its first 18 years and encourages nominations for this year's award.

Remember - the deadline for your submission is January 23, 2009.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: