[Masthead] Overcast ~ 45°F  
High: 48°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Cherokee County Supervisors hold Reorganization Meeting

Thursday, January 8, 2009

Graybill takes oath - Cherokee County Supervisor Terry Graybill (right) is pictured above taking the Oath of Office from Judge Dan Meloy on Jan. 2. Photo by Mike Leckband
The Cherokee County Supervisor wasted no time getting to work in 2009. meeting on Jan. 2 for a special Reorganization Meeting.

The first item of business was the swearing in ceremony for the new county officials. Magistrate Judge Dan Meloy administrated the Oath of Office to Supervisor Dean Schmidt, Supervisor Terry Graybill, Supervisor Larry Prunty and Cherokee County Sheriff Dave Scott.

After the ceremony, County Auditor and Clerk to the Board of Supervisors Kris Glienke called the first Supervisor meeting of 2009 to order. First order of business was the election of Chairman of the Board.

Prunty takes oath of office - Judge Dan Meloy (left) administrated the oath of office to elected Cherokee County officials on Jan. 2, 2009. Pictured above with Meloy is Supervisor-elect Larry Prunty Photo by Mike Leckband
Once again Jeff Simons was voted Chairman and Dean Schmidt remained Vice-Chair.

Glienke was then chosen to be the 2009 Clerk to the Board.

The Board then set the date and time for the 2009 Supervisor meeting to remain on Tuesdays at 9 a.m.

The Board then named the official newspapers for Cherokee county and once again the Chronicle Times and the Marcus News were picked.

Schmidt takes oath - Cherokee County Supervisor Dean Schmidt took the Oath of Office during a special reorganization meeting held at the Cherokee County Courthouse on Jan. 2. Photo by Mike Leckband
Next, the Board set mileage rates for county employees at 42 cents a mile.

The Board then approved their Committee assignments: Courthouse Committee -- Prunty, Graybill; County Shop -- all Supervisors,; County Fairs -- Graybill, Schmidt; YES Center Board -- Prunty, Graybill (alternate); Solid Waste Commission -- Leeds, Simons (alternate), Bud Clow ad hoc member; Mid Sioux -- Schmidt, Graybill (alternate); Plains Area Mental Heath -- Graybill, Leeds (alternate); Cherokee County Work Services -- Graybill, Simons (alternate); SRTS -- Simons, Prunty (alternate); Third Judicial Representative -- Simons, Schmidt (alternate); Regional Workforce Investment Board -- Simons, Schmidt (alternate); E911 -- Graybill, Simons (alternate); SIMPCO -- Prunty, Leeds (alternate); EMS -- Aimee Barritt, Graybill, Prunty (alternate); REAP -- Leeds, Graybill; Case Management Advisory Board/Project Team -- Leeds, Schmidt, (alternate); MHI Advisory Board -- Schmidt; Hazardous Materials Response Commission -- Prunty, Graybill; Cherokee County Residential Services, Inc. -- Schmidt, Prunty (alternate); NW IA Community Empowerment Board -- Leeds; MHI Citizens Advisory Board -- all Supervisors; NW IA Contracting Consortium Administrative Board -- Simons, Schmidt; Sioux Rivers RC&D Council -- Simons, Prunty (alternate); Enterprise Zone Board -- Schmidt; USDA Rural Revolving Loan Committee -- Simons; Board of Health -- all Supervisors; and CRMC Ambulance -- Schmidt.

Cherokee County Sheriff Dave Scott (right) is pictured with Judge Dan Meloy taking the Oath of Office on Jan. 2, 2009. Photo by Mike Leckband
The Board then reviewed the Committee appointments on various county boards that had expired. John Barlow was named to a five-year term to the Conservation Board; Jack Creel, Liz White and Jeff Waldner were named to the Board of Health, each for a three-year term. For the Civil Service Commission, the Board appointed Dick Waterbury and the County Attorney appointed Jim Hein, both are six-year terms. Appointed to the six- year term for the Examining Board by mayor is Ken Slater and that meeting will be held on Jan 14. Jim Warrender was appointed to the Veteran's Affairs for a three-year term. Tom Jenness was appointed as Weed Commissioner for one-year term. The Judicial Magistrate Commission will be made up of Bev Alesch, Kent Wenck and Dennis Allen, each a six-year term.

Other business for the Board was the approval of $8,000 for two proposals by Emswiler Architecture for designs for a new Cherokee County Jail. The Board also at this time heard from Sheriff Scott who gave his input on how he would like to see the Sally Port big enough for two or three cars and keep the Sally Port separate from an exercise yard. He also would like to see the kitchen area bigger in the new designs.

The Board then approved final payout for two employees, retired Supervisor Ron Wetherell received $400 for his final part of his last six-month salary, and former Auditor's office employee Jody Haupert received $3,528.57 for vacation/comp and severance.

County Engineer Dave Shanahan brought forth 12 entrance permits that the Board approved. The Board also approved a bridge contract with Christensen Brothers for bridgework at Section 8 and 17 of Pitcher Township.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: