[Masthead] Fair ~ 72°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 60°F
Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2016

Former Aurelia grad wins Hearst Scholarship

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

SAN FRANCISCO - The top ten winners in college Editorial writing were recently announced in the 49th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation's Journalism Awards Program.

Undergraduate journalism programs at 110 colleges and universities across the nation were eligible to participate in the program, and 98 students from 54 colleges and universities participated in this competition.

Beth Rankin, a graduate of Kent State University, was awarded first place for an article she wrote for the Daily Kent Stater, and two of the remaining winners are students at Iowa State University. Joshua Hillman was awarded second place, and won a $1500 scholarship, and Sophie Lynne Prell was awarded ninth place, receiving a $500 scholarship. Prell is the legal name of Gaylen Miller, a former graduate of Aurelia High School.

Iowa State University finished in third place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition, based on accumulated student points from the first two writing competitions of the academic year. The University of Kansas received first place, followed by San Francisco State, ISU, Arizona State, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Northwestern University, Indiana, Florida A & M and the University of Montana.

Judges of the competition were from East Dennis, Massachusetts, Houston, Texas, and Portland, Oregon.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: