[Masthead] Fog/Mist ~ 35°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 45°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

MMC teams to State in 12 events

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

The talented Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn track and field teams have qualified in 12 events at this week's State Meet in Des Moines. State qualifiers include, front row, left to right, Jena Mittlestadt, Ashley Schneider, Rachel McDermott, Amanda Hoefling, Erica Dreckman. Middle, Neal Bunt, Lukas Nelson, Jacob Lehnhoff, Chris Mayrose. Back, Alex Roseen, Jay Welp, Jordan Boekhout, Will Hanson, Blaine Dammann, Blake Erdman. Photo contributed
South O'Brien qualifies in three events

HAWARDEN - The Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn boys qualified 10 athletes in eight different events, and the MMC girls qualified five girls in four different events for the 2009 Iowa State Track & Field Championships Thursday through Saturday at Drake Stadium in Des Moines.

MMC and South O'Brien boys and girls track and field teams participated in Friday's Class 1A District hosted by West Sioux in Hawarden.

For the MMC boys, Jay Welp was a double winner, placing first in the 1600 meters in 4:57, and first in the 3200 meters in 11:00. Will Hanson also copped a first-place finish with a 15.19 clocking in the 110 hurdles. MMC's shuttle hurdle relay of Chris Mayrose, Lukas Nelson, Jordan Boekhout, and Hanson also won first in a time of 1:02.

Eagle Alex Roseen was second in the discus with a throw of 144-2 to also make State. Other Eagle relay teams earning State berths were the District runner-up 4x100 of Jacob Lehnhoff, Nelson, Blake Erdmann, and Blaine Dammann timed in 45.72; the runner-up 4x200 relay of Erdmann, Dammann, Lehnhoff, and Nelson timed in 1:34; and the runner-up distance medley relay of Lehnhoff, Dammann, Neal Bunt, and Welp clocked in 3:49.

Alex Roseen of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn lets the discus fly on his way to a runner-up finish and a berth in the Iowa State Track & Field Championships this week in Des Moines. Roseen holds the Eagles' school record. Photo by Roy Tucker
Other MMC top finishers missing out on boys State berths were Boekhout fourth in the 110 hurdles in 16.79, and fourth in the 400 hurdles in 1:02; Dammann fourth in the 100 meters in 11.44; and the 4x400 relay third in 3:37.

For South O'Brien, Jarod Syndergaard qualified in the long jump with a 21-3 leap; and the 4x400 relay of Grant Hibbing, Mike Faust, Syndergaard, and Dillon Zimmer timed in 3:36.

Other top finishers for SOS were Taylor Schroeder third in the 200 meters in 23.91, and fourth in the long jump with a leap of 19-10; Syndergaard fourth in the 200 in 23.97; Zimmer third in the 400 meters in 55.22; Adam Paulsen third in the 800 meters in 2:12; Cole Pleggenkuhle fourth in the 800 meters in 2:13; the 4x800 relay third in 8:50; and the distance medley third in 3:58.

West Lyon won the boys District team title with 141 points, followed by MMC 97. SOS was fourth with 80.5.

The MMC girls made State in three relays and Erica Dreckman's first-place in the 100 meters in 12.99. The State-bound relays were the runner-up 4x100 of Jena Mittlestadt, Rachel McDermott, Amanda Hoefling, and Ashley Schneider timed in 53.83; the runner-up 4x200 of Dreckman, Mittlestadt, Hoefling and Schneider timed in 1:52; and the winning sprint medley of Mittlestadt, McDermott, Schneider, and Dreckman clocked in 1:58.

For the SOS girls, Katie Tesch was the lone qualifier, placing third in the 100 hurdles in 16.70.

The SOS 4x400 relay was fourth in 4:27, and the distance medley was third in 4:49.

Hinton won the girls team title with 111.5 points, followed by Le Mars Gehlen 93.5. MMC was seventh with 47, and SOS 13th with 23.

"This season has been very successful and a lot of fun," said MMC girls coach Ric Collins. "We are young and can improve even more next year. We'll try our best to score some points at State for MMC."

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: