[Masthead] Fair ~ 43°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 41°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

All-WEC Softball Teams announced

Thursday, July 16, 2009

South O'Brien landed four players on the 2009 All-War Eagle Conference Softball first team, and youthful Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn had three players named to the All-WEC second team announced this week.

First team pitchers included senior Ashton Lansink of South O'Brien, junior Amber Zortman of Sergeant Bluff-Luton, and junior Jordan Harris of Akron-Westfield.

First team catchers were senior Chelsie Rohrs of SOS, and freshman Betsy Thomas of SB-L.

First team infielders included senior Aerielle Earleywine of SB-L, senior Kayla Hatting of Le Mars Gehlen, senior Alison Kusler of A-W, junior Samantha Engleman of West Sioux, and sophomore Emma Krier of Remsen St. Mary's.

First team outfielders were senior Taylor Julian of SOS, junior Jamie Shultz of SB-L, junior Karly Groon of A-W, and senior Anna Schroeder of Granville Spalding.

First team utility players were junior Kelsey Hanson of SB-L, and senior Christine Haden of SOS.

MMC freshman Kayla Foresman was a second team pitcher, MMC junior Mariah Walton a second team infielder, and MMC sophomore Stephanie Specht a second team utility player.

Junior Miranda Kelleher of SOS was a second team utility player.

SB-L and A-W tied for first place in the WEC with identical 16-2 records, followed by Gehlen 13-5, West Sioux 1107, SOS 8-10, Hinton 7-11, MMC 7-11, Spalding 6-12, RSM 5-12, and Orange City Unity Christian 0-17.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: