All - Conference Lakes Conference baseball teams named

Wednesday, August 5, 2009
Cherokee's Tyler Jones (batting) was a unanimous choice for the First Team All-Lakes Conference squad. Photo by Paul Struck

There were six players unanimous selected to the First Team All-Lakes Conference baseball team named recently, and the conference champion Cherokee Braves had four of those unanimous picks - seniors Matt Koch, Tyler Jones and Kyle Schuett and junior Cody Ege. The southpaw Ege and right hander Koch, bound for the University of Louisville, were selected as pitchers, and were joined by Storm Lake's Ben Seaman, a senior. Jones and Emmetsburg's Bobby Mortensen were selected as catchers; Schuett was one of four outfielders named to the first team, joined by LeMars' Tyler Candor, Sheldon's Danny Rideour, and Western Christian's Josh Pollema.

Wetern Christian's Jesse Vander Zwaag, a junior, was named at first base and Sheldon's Taylor Zeutenhorst, LeMars' Aaron Fisher, Estherville-Lincoln Cenral's Keith Fandel and Storm Lake's Michael McCabe round out the first team infield. Vander Zwaag and Zeutenhorst were the oher two unanimous selections.

Jay Penning of LeMars and Mitch Peschon of Spirit Lake were selected as Utility players. McCabe and Peschon are sophomores; Ege, Vander Zwaag and Zeutenhorst are juniors, and the remaining selections are all seniors.

Second team selections were LeMars' Brayton Ringsdorf, Tanner Dowling, and Keaton Rowe; Sheldon's Cole Kleinwolterink, Ben Van Kekerix and Adam Nilles; E-LC's Alex Arends and Scott Schmidt; Emmetsburg's Taylor Morris; Spirit Lake's Derrick Minor, and Western Christian's Bryce Groenweg.

The final standings in Lakes Conference baseball :

Varsity - 1. Cherokee (23-4 overall, 14-2 conference); 2. LeMars (18-12, 12-4); 3. Western Christian (17-13, 10-6); 4. Storm Lake (17-12, 8-7); 5. Sheldon (17-9, 8-8); 6. E-LC ( 16-16, 6-10); 7. Emmetsburg (9-14, 4-10); 8. Spencer (8-19, 4-11); 9. Spirit Lake (9-18, 4-12)

JV - 1. LeMars (21-6-2, 12-2); 2. Spirit Lake (11-8-1, 7-6-1); 3. Spencer (9-9, 7-6); 4. Storm Lake (10-8, 6-6); 5. E-LC ( 8-10, 7-8); 6. Cherokee (10-11, 7-9); 7. Emmetsburg (5-14, 2-11). Sheldon and Western Christian did not field JV teams.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: