[Masthead] Fair ~ 51°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 55°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

IHSBCA All-State teams announced

Thursday, August 13, 2009

Matt Koch
Cherokee's Koch named to elite 'Super Team'

Four Cherokee players and one Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn player have earned All-State recognition by the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association.

Included in that star-studded field was Cherokee senior pitcher/shortstop Matt Koch, who earned a berth as a utility player on the coveted all-class 2009 All-State Super Team

Jacob Lehnhoff
Two other Braves earned Class 2A first-team IHSBCA All-State honors, including senior catcher Tyler Jones, and junior pitcher/first baseman Cody Ege. Cherokee senior outfielder Kyle Schuett was named to the IHSBCA second team.

Jacob Lehnhoff, an MMC senior pitcher/infielder, was named to the Class 1A first team, along with Alta seniors Jack Mills (outfielder), Jeremy Lambert (second baseman), and Austin Stille (utility).

Sioux City North's Dean McArdle (senior pitcher), and Damek Tomscha (junior shortstop) accompanied Koch on the elite Super Team, along with Joe Flattery (senior outfielder) of the Fort Dodge St. Edmond Flatterys.

Kyle Schuett
Other Northwest Iowa picks in Class 4A were Sioux City North's Eric McGlaughlin (junior third baseman), Chad Piersma (senior catcher), and Nick Tillo (senior outfielder); and Sioux City East's Britt Anderson (junior outfielder), and Jerad Barth (senior utility).

McArdle was named IHSBCA Player of the Year, and Piersma was named IHSBCA All-Academic.

In Class 3A, first-team Northwest Iowans included Nathan Bruck (senior first baseman), and Cody VanNess (senior third baseman) of Denison-Schleswig; and Tyler Candor (senior outfielder) of Le Mars. Second-team picks included Jordan Huffman (senior shortstop) of Sergeant Bluff-Luton.

Tyler Jones (right) visits Matt Koch on the mound.
In Class 2A, other Northwest Iowa first-team picks were Taylor Zeutenhorst (junior utility) of Sheldon, and Jon Flattery (senior outfielder) of Fort Dodge St. Edmond. Second-team honors besides Schuett, went to Gabe Wingert (junior catcher) of Westwood, and Jon Engler (senior utility) of St. Edmond.

In Class 1A, second-team honors also went to Jake Rus (senior pitcher) of Granville Spalding, and Jeff Gacke (senior catcher) of Central Lyon.

Siuoux City North won the 2009 State 4A title, Norwalk won the 3A crown, St. Edmond won the 2A title, and Mason City Newman won the 1A crown.

Cody Ege
Storm Lake, the 3A runner-up, had no players selected on the IHSBCA All-State teams.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: