[Masthead] Overcast ~ 66°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 52°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

CAEDC Action Report

Thursday, August 20, 2009

This time every year there is a change in the Cherokee Area Economic Development Board of Directors as the three-year terms come to an end. Many times our Board members stay well beyond their first term as is the case with Mike Hunter. Mike, the President of Cherokee State Bank is retiring from service on the CAEDC Board of Directors after thirteen continuous years of service. His service has included the positions of Treasurer, Secretary, Vice-President and President as well as serving on various committees throughout the years. Mike has given freely of his time and talents while serving on the board and for that we are very appreciative. Thank you Mike for a job well done, your presence will be missed at our monthly Board meetings. Also, leaving the Board this year is Bruce Schmadeke vice-president of Farmers State Bank in Marcus. Bruce has been the voice of Marcus on the Board for six consecutive years. Thank you for your wisdom and efforts to better our county.

With the change in the Board comes new wisdom and new leaders to help drive our economic development efforts into the future. Coming to the Board this year is Matt Mongan of Cherokee, Matt is in business, with his father Rick, at Mongan Painting Company. Matt is ready to improve the economic future of our area by being involved with the Board and giving fresh new ideas as to how we can accomplish our goals. Matt brings with him business experience and lifelong knowledge of our county. Also, new this year is Al Vasher from Marcus. Al is the High School Principal for the M-M-C School District. He has great knowledge of the Iowa School Systems and brings the needs and wants of the Marcus community to the Board. His leadership will help to move our Board into the future.

We thank our entire Board for their efforts. This year giving leadership are: Mark Hecox, President; Terry Graybill, Vice-President; Brain Freed, Secretary; Matt Mongan, Treasurer; Tom Kellen, past President; Jim Peck, Cherokee; Les Todd, Aurelia; Ramona Nitz, Cherokee; Tim Haupert; Scott Jones, Cleghorn; Al Vasher, Marcus; Mike Dunn, Meriden, Jon Simonsen, Quimby and Eric Goettsch, Washta. If you happen to see any of these fourteen dedicated individuals please take a moment to thank them for their volunteer efforts for your community and the county.