[Masthead] Fair ~ 67°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 53°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

School Board Election on Sept. 8

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

Voters go to the polls next Tuesday, September 8, to elect their representatives to local school district Boards of Education, directors on their Communitty College Boards and in some districts, there will be other issues on the ballot as well.

In Cherokee, there will be two at-large Board seats up for election, and incumbents Teri Weaver and Larry Goodrich are both unopposed. Also on the ballot is the election for Director, District 2 of Western Iowa Tech Community College. Michael D. Hunter is the only candidate for that position.

In the Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn School District, incumbents Jerry Moser (At Large) and Jeff Gross (District 2) are unopposed, as are Kathy Jochims and Nancy Hohbach, who are running for seats representing the first and third districts, respectively. Also on the ballot for MMC voters are two public measures. One measure continues the levy, not to exceed $.06 per $1000, to allow NW Iowa Community College to share with other community colleges or purchase instructional equipment. The other levy on the ballot is the PPEL levy, for the purpose of purchase or repair of the local school district's physical plant and equipment. Craig Struve is also on the ballot, for election as Director, Disrict 4, of Northwest Iowa Community College.

Aurelia has two Board seats up for election. Incumbent Colby Entriken is running for re-election, but the other incumbent, Jim Hultgren, is not. Jennifer Kaskey is on the ballot for that seat on the Board, and she is unopposed. Also on the ballot for Aurelia voters will be the issue of approving the continuation of the Physical Plant and Equipment Levy (PPEL) for another 10-year time period. This fund can be used only for purchase or repair of the school's physical plant and equipment. Voters in the Aurelia District also have Michael D. Hunter's name on their ballot for election to Director, District 2 of Western Iowa Tech Community College.

Washta and Quimby voters will be voting in the River Valley School District election. Incumbent Scott Carnes has chosen not to run for re-election, and no one else has filed for that seat, so a write-in vote will determine who will hold that seat on the River Valley Board. Incumbent Dawn McCrea is seeking re-election, and is running unopposed. Also on the ballot, for election to the District 2 position on the Western Iowa Tech Board of Directors, is Michael D. Hunter.

Polling places are as follows:

Cherokee District - Upper level, Cherokee Community Center ( 7 a.m. - 8 p.m.)

Aurelia District - Aurelia Community Center (12 noon - 8 p.m.)

Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn District - Marcus Municipal Building (12 noon - 8 p.m.)

Cleghorn Comm. Bldg. (12 noon - 8 p.m.)

River Valley District - Quimby Community Building for Cherokee County residents in Grand Meadow, Pilot, Rock, Silver, Tilden & Willow Townships. ( 12 - 8 p.m.)

Correctionville Community Building

for Woodbury residents in Union, Rutland, Wolfcreek & Kedron Townships

Cushing Fire Station

for Woodbury residents in Morgan & Rock Townships, plus Ida County residents

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: