[Masthead] Fair ~ 62°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 42°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

57 Iowa counties designated disaster areas

Friday, September 4, 2009

WASHINGTON -- According to the USDA, 57 counties in Iowa have received a disaster designation from Secretary of Agriculture, Tom Vilsack due to the severe storms, hail, and flooding that occurred between May 15 and July 31, 2009.

U.S. Senator Chuck Grassley previously urged Secretary Vilsack to honor Governor Chet Culver's August 11th request to declare a Secretarial Disaster Designation for 23 Iowa counties, as well as an August 20th request for an additional eight counties. The second request has not yet been acted on by the Secretary.

This designation makes farmers eligible to be considered for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE). The Farm Service Agency will consider each application on its own merit by taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability. Local Farm Service Agency offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

"This declaration will help Iowa farmers who suffered crop losses get back on their feet," Grassley said. "Relief can't come fast enough for Iowans whose crops have been taken down to the ground. I appreciate Secretary Vilsack's quick action and look forward to his consideration of the remaining counties."

The following counties were declared primary natural disaster areas: Allamakee, Benton, Bremer, Butler, Chickasaw, Clarke, Clay, Clayton, Decatur, Delaware, Fayette, Howard, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lucas, Mahaska, Van Buren, Wapello, Wayne and Winneshiek.

The following counties were declared contiguous disaster counties: Appanoose, Black Hawk, Buchannan, Buena Vista, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Clinton, Davis, Dickinson, Dubuque, Emmet, Floyd, Franklin, Grundy, Hardin, Henry, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Lee, Linn, Madison, Marion, Mitchell, Monroe, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Tama, Union, Warren and Washington.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: