[Masthead] Fair ~ 39°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Very few races for Nov. 3 City Elections

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Pending any unforeseen withdrawals late Tuesday afternoon (by 5 p.m.), the tables are set for Cherokee County municipalities' November 3 City Elections, although the dishware is sparse on many of those tables.

Two candidates have filed for three vacancies in Cherokee, with Mark Murphy filing for Mayor to replace outgoing Mayor Pam Pierce, who was appointed to the post and has declined to run for election. The other is Mick Mallory, incumbent At-Large Council member, who is seeking re-election.

Cherokee's Ward II Council vacancy will rely on write-in votes as incumbent Bob Leach is not seeking re-election, and nobody filed for the seat. Åll terms are for four years in Cherokee.

In Aurelia, Jacob Schutt has filed for Mayor, and the three vacancies for At-Large Council member will be decided by write-in votes, as nobody filed for those positions. The Aurelia Mayoral post is a two-year term, and the Council posts four-year terms.

In Marcus, incumbent Mayor Darrell Downs is seeking another two-year term, and incumbent Conrad Ebert and Tony L. Ross have filed for the two At-Large Council seats.

Also on the ballot at Marcus is Public Measure F-2009, which reads, "Should the City of Marcus adopt an ordinance imposing a hotel/motel tax of 5-percent on the sales price of all renting and lodging units in the City of Marcus, to be effective Jan. 1, 2010, in accordance with the provisions of section 423.4 of the Code of Iowa?"

In Quimby, there are no candidates filed for Mayor, or the three At-Large Council seats, so they also will be determined by write-in votes. The Mayor's post is a two-year term, and the Council posts are for four years.

In Cleghorn, incumbents Les C. Pedersen and Todd Wetherell are running for the two At-Large Council seats, which are four-year terms. The Mayor race will be in 2011.

In Meriden, incumbent Mayor D.J. Sechler is seeking another two-year term, and incumbents Shirley Korleski and Brian Shea, and Allen J. Campbell are seeking the three At-Large Council seats, which are four-year terms.

There is a race in Washta, where incumbent Mayor Donald Parrott is seeking another two-year term, and six candidates have filed for the three At-Large Council vacancies. They are incumbents James Michael Baumann, Deborah Cockburn, and Scott Jenkins; and Jamie Lee Deeds, Michelle McCampbell, and Chris Shea.

Also in Washta, voters will cast ballots for Public Measure E-2009, which reads, "Shall Todd Wetherell be granted a renewal on the Franchise to operate and maintain a Cable Television System in the City of Washta for a period of 25 years?"

In Larrabee, incumbent Mayor Don James is seeking another four-year term, and three incumbents are seeking re-election to At-Large Council seats. They are Earl Cresap, Dustin Richardson, and Nick Ludwig.

Sept. 17 was nominee filing deadline for the Nov. 3 City Elections.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: