[Masthead] Overcast ~ 43°F  
High: 55°F ~ Low: 45°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

The STARS were out in November

Friday, November 27, 2009

November 15th has come and gone and I have survived yet another BIG milestone on the 4-H calendar, The Awards Banquet. This year the Awards Banquet was held at the Aurelia Community Center. We started the evening with a potluck dinner. YUMMY!!! Cherokee County 4-H has the best cooks in the county!

Several things happen during the Awards Banquet. The first is that a new County Council is installed. The County Council is made up youth in grades 10-12, who are willing to donate at least 1 hour per month to attend a meeting and plan activities for all county 4-H'ers. This year the County Council is made up of returning members Justin Cave, David Peters, Cody Stowater, Melissa Tabke, Nathan Wendt, Audrey Winterhof, Emily Woltman and Hilary Zarr. We would also like to welcome 7 new members to the County Council. They are Courtney Behrens, Jill Addison, Ashley Brady, John Schleef, Sara Peters, Alyson Zarr and Nicole Springer. I must say I am most excited to work with this group of young people. They all have some wonderful ideas and so much enthusiasm, I think you will be seeing and hearing a lot more of Cherokee County 4-H.

We also awarded several project area awards, of which I will cover in another article. Some of the most important awards awarded at the Ceremony on Sunday were the "Special Awards". In order for a 4-H'er to be considered for one of these "Special Awards", they must have first completed a record book or filled out an award application. They must also be at least a sophomore in high school, had 3 or more years of 4-H club work, demonstrated leadership beyond the local club level, and met the guidelines of the specific award.

Here is a list of the "Special Awards" and their winners. . .

Citizenship Justin Cave of the Tilden Tillers

Ak-Sar-Ben Kelsey Sears of the Cavaliers

I DARE YOU Justin Cave and Nathan Wendt of the Tilden Tillers

Outstanding Junior Record Books Taylor VandeLune, Christian VandeLune, and Joel VandeLune of Mill Creek Valley, Mitchell Stief of the Stockmen, and Kirk Carlson of the Country Pioneers

Best Intermediate Record Book Laird Waller of Mill Creek Valley

Best Record Keeping Trophy Nathan Wendt of the Tilden Tillers

We also awarded some very special adult recognition awards Sunday afternoon. They include:

5 Years of Service recognition to Christy Alquist of the Youth & 4-H

Committee and Jeanette Hinkeldey of the Country Pioneers

10 Years of Service recognition to Val Cedar of the Cavaliers

15 Years of Service recognition to Jerry Ebert of the Youth & 4-H Committee

20 Years of Service recognition to Sally Wilkie of Mill Creek Valley Club

4-H Leader of the Year Stephanie Spieler of the Tilden Tillers

4-H Alumni of the Year David Medick of Cherokee

Honorary 4-H'er Sally Wilkie of Mill Creek Valley and Jerri Corken of the Cavaliers

Partner in 4-H Michael Fuhrman of Larrabee and Jerry & Lynn Ebert of Washta

Chris Clover Award Don Pingel of Cherokee

As you can see it was a busy evening. Those receiving the awards listed above were deserving winners. Congratulations!

Extension programs are available to all without regard to race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability.