[Masthead] Partly Cloudy ~ 67°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 42°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

MMC grapplers split double dual

Friday, December 4, 2009

MARCUS - The Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn wrestlers kicked off their season with a tough double dual meet here Monday night, also featuring the Aurelia/Galva-Holstein/Schaller-Crestland, and Alta squads.

MMC dropped a hard-fought 45-36 doozy to Alta, and then rebounded with a 45-18 dual victory over AGHSC.

Taylor Witzel of Aurelia/Galva-Holstein/Schaller-Crestland, top, and Jacob Pearson of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn wait for the official's signal to begin action during a double dual in Marcus this week. Photo contributed
The Aurelia/Galva-Holstein/Schaller-Crestland wrestlers got their wrestling season off to a "shaky start," in the words of the Stonecutters' coach, Scott Phelps, as the team lost both matches in the double dual.

In their first match, the Stonecutters lost to Alta by a score of 62-12, and in the second dual against the host Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn Eagles,AGHSC was on the short end of a 45-18 score.

The host Eagles had one double winner in the person of Tyler Pearson, who won both his matches by fall at 130 pounds. Other pin winners for MMC on the night were Tyler Nielsen at 119, Ben Phillips at 135, Jacob Meehan at 140, and Ethan Radtke at 152.

For AGHSC, Spencer Snyder won by fall at 189, and Logan Schafer won by fall at heavyweight.

IN a JV match, Chad Borchers of AGHSC beat Michael Bush of MMC 8-0.

MMC wrestles in the MOC-Floyd Valley Tournament Saturday in Orange City, and travels to Hinton for a double dual with Hinton and Sioux Center Monday night.

AGHSC travels to the Manson NW Webster Tournament on Saturday.

Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn's Nathan Zubrod works to get on his feet as Alta's Robbie Sauter, top, works to maintain control in season-opening wrestling action in Marcus this week. Photo contributed
A 45, MMC 36

103 - Ernesto Dominguaz, A, won by forfeit

112 - Joseph Coll, A, won by forfeit

119 - Tyler Nielsen, MMC, pinned Nathan Alafa 1:02

125 - Josh Kristensen, A, won by forfeit

130 - Tyler Pearson, MMC, pinned Jordan Schmidtz 1:39

135 - Taylor Stevicks, A, pinned Ben Phillips 1:21

140 - Jacob Meehan, MMC, pinned jared Schmidtz 3:05

145 - Cody Duhn, A, beat Mitch Brady 10-3

152 - Etan Radtke, MMC, won by forfeit

160 - Russ Godbersen, MMC, won by forfeit

171 - Jacob Pearson, MMC, won by forfeit

189 - Garrett VanHouten, A, pinned Tanner Cronin 2:48

215 - Robbie Sauter, A, pinned Nathan Zubrod 5:52

Hwt - Matt Sefcik, A, won by forfeit

MMC 45, AGHSC 18

103 - Open

112 - Open

119 - Nielsen, MMC, won by forfeit

125 - Kaleb Young, AGHSC, won by forfeit

130 - Pearson, MMC, pinned Shane Thoreson :59

135 - Phillips, MMC, pinned Tylar Hansen 1:14

140 - Meehan, MMC, won by forfeit

145 - Brady, MMC, beat Dru Kenny 11-9

152 - Radtke, MMC, pinned Juan Pineds 1:08

160 - Godbersen, MMC, won by forfeit

171 - Pearson, MMC, beat Taylor Witzel 9-2

189 - Spencer Snyder, AGHSC, pinned Cronin 1:05

215 - Zubrod, MMC, beat Adam Spahr 17-15 OT

Hwt - Logan Schafer, AGHSC, pinned Levi Letsche :22

A 62, AGHSC 12

103 - Dominguaz, A, won by forfeit

112 - Coll, A, won by forfeit

119 - Alafa, A, won by forfeit

125 - Kristensen, A, beat Young 19-4

130 - Jordan Schmidtz, A, pinned Thoreson 3:09

135 - Stevicks, A, pinned Hansen :53

140 - Open

145 - Jared Schmidtz, A, won by forfeit

152 - Duhn, A, beat Kenny 21-6

160 - Witzel, AGHSC, won by forfeit

171 - Snyder, AGHSC won by forfeit

189 - Van Houten, A, beat Spahr 16-6

215 - Sauter, A, pinned Kevin Hernandez 5:11

Hwt - Sefcik, A, pinned Schafer :26

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: