[Masthead] Fair ~ 41°F  
High: 66°F ~ Low: 52°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

MMC wrestlers split double dual

Friday, December 11, 2009

Ben Phillips of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn keeps his eyes wide open as he rides atop of Hinton's Isaac Wodtke during the Eagles' wrestling double dual in Hinton Monday night. Photo contributed
Nielsen, Pearson, Godbersen win both matches by fall

HINTON - The busy Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn wrestlers split a double dual hosted by Hinton here Monday night, defeating the host Blackhawks 45-21, and falling 38-27 to the Sioux Center Warriors.

Tyler Nielsen at 125 pounds, Tyler Pearson at 130, and Russ Godbersen at 152 were twin-pin winners for the Eagles.

Also winning a match by fall were Ben Phillips at 135, Mitch Brady at145, and Ethan Radtke at 171. Radtke was a double winner for MMC, also winning his second match by injury default.

In JV action for MMC, Dylan Rolfes won by fall in :48, and Taylor Coombs won by fall in :27.

MMC coach Steve Phillips said, "I'm pretty happy with the team as a whole. We have many members on the squad who are being true team players. They are stepping up and taking their task very seriously. They have some very big shoes to fill and are doing a nice job for us. Also, the leadership is really developing in our wrestling room."

Jake Meehan of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn controls Sioux Center's Kyle Donlin during the Eagles' wrestling double dual split at Hinton Monday night. Photo contributed
Sioux Center beat Hinton 45-24 in the other dual.

MMC competes in the Sibley-Ocheyedan Tournament Saturday.

MMC 45, H 21

103 - Quinton Robinson, H, won by forfeit

112 - Open

119 - Open

125 - Tyler Nielen, MMC, pinned Seth Courtright 1:50

Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn's Jacob Pearson, top, attempts to turn Sioux Center's Colton Van't Hof during the Eagles' wrestling double dual at Hinton Monday night. Photo contributed
130 - Tyler Pearson, MMC, pinned Collin Poss :29

135 - Ben Phillips, MMC, pinned isaac Wodtke 4:43

140 - Devin DeRocher, H, beat Jacob Meehan 9-6

145 - Mitch Brady, MMC, pinned Nate Held 5:54

152 - Russ Godbersen, MMC, pinned Michael Haire 1:)7

160 - Jacob Pearson, MMC, beat Kole Vondrak 8-6

171 - Ethan Radtke, MMC, pinned Kyle Vondrak 1:01

189 - Tanner Knop, H, won by forfeit

215 - Avery Peirce, H, pinned Tanner Cronin 1:25

Hwt - Levi Letsche, MMC, won by forfeit

SC 38, MMC 27

103 - Open

112 - Open

119 - Nielsen, MMC, pinned Mario Ruiz 1:32

125 - Josh Olvera, SC, won by forfeit

130 - Pearson, MMC, pinned Joel Gonzalez :25

135 - Austin Renes, SC, pinned Phillips 1:25

140 - Meehan, MMC, beat Kyle Donlin 8-6

145 - Felipe Felipe, SC, beat Brady 8-4

152 - Godbersen, MMC, pinned Gabe Doornink 1:56

160 - Radtke, MMC, beat Sean Robinson by injury default

171 - Colton Van't Hof, SC, beat Pearson 18-3

189 - Trevor Pritchard, SC, pinned Michsel Bush 1:58

215 - Mark Schmith, SC, pinned Cronin 1:57

Hwt - Alejandro Jara, SC, pinned Letsche 2:23

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: