[Masthead] Overcast ~ 40°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

MMC wrestlers place 2nd in WEC

Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Jacob Pearson of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn pins Akron-Westfield's Daniel Beitelspacher on his way to the 160-pound title at the recent War Eagle Conference Wrestling Tournament in Akron. Photo contributed
Meehan, Pearson are conference champions

AKRON - The Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn wrestlers crowned two champions and featured three runners-up at the recent War Eagle Conference Wrestling Tournament here.

Sergeant Bluff-Luton won the team title with 229 points, followed by MMC 168, Akron-Westfield 151.5, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn 144, West Sioux 139, and Hinton 73.

Champions for the MMC Eagles were Jake Meehan at 140 pounds, and Jacob Pearson at 160. Placing second in the quality competition were MMC's Russ Godbersen at 152, Ethan Radtke at 171, and Levi Letsche at 285.

In addition, MMC featured three third-place finishers in Tyler Nielsen at 119, Tyler Pearson at 125, and Ben Phillips at 130.

Meehan pinned four grapplers on his way to the title. Meehan won by fall in 5:19 over Tyler Schneider of A-W, in 1:22 over Nathanial Ericson of West Sioux, in :41 over Isaac Soodtke of Hinton, and 5:23 over Alec Ahmann of HMS. He also beat Josh King of SB-L 8-4.

Pearson pinned all five foes he faced, winning by fall in 3:34 over Sean Fitzgerald of SB-L, in 1:49 over Colton Kaskie of WS, in 1:23 over Daniel Beitelspacher of A-W, in 5:04 over Brett Flynn of HMS, and in :29 over Craig Stanley of Hinton.

Runner-up Godbersen pinned Kole Vondrak of Hinton in 5:03, pinned Taylor James of A-W in 2:41, pinned David Hernandez of WS in 1:30, pinned Wyatt Towne of HMS in :54, and lost 4-1 to Cody Solari of SB-L.

Runner-up Radtke was pinned by Ryan Rozeboom of SB-L in 4:36, pinned Kyle Vondrak of Hinton in 2:24, pinned Michael Kotts of WS in 1:30, pinned Ethan Hecht of A-W in 5:42, and received a bye.

Runner-up Letsche pinned Josh Fletcher of SB-L in :47, was pinned by Logan Bonnema of WS in :15, and received three byes.

In earning their third place finishes for the Eagles, Nielsen was 1-2 with two byes for the day, Pearson was 3-2, and Phillips was 2-3.

Other place winners for MMC were Nathan Zubrod fourth at 189 pounds, Dillon MUgge fourth at 215, Mitch Brady fifth at 135, and Dylan Rolfes fifth at 145.

In the past, the WEC Tournament was run as a team dual tourney, but this year after the addition of HMS to the WEC, the format was changed to a round robin tourney.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: