[Masthead] Fair ~ 55°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 55°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Citizen of the year sought

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Nominations are being accepted for the 20th Annual "Citizen of the Year Award" which is presented by the Mayor of Cherokee to recognize an individual who has made a significant contribution to the betterment of the entire community of Cherokee, outside their chosen trade or profession.

Cherokee's Citizen of the Year is selected by the Mayor's Committee consisting of representatives from the following groups: City or County government, industry, school, ministerial, service organizations, medical, and business.

Recent recipients over the last several years have included Wilma Starkey, Jim Adamson, Herb Ford, Mark Minger, Sherry Held, John Cook, Jr., Wayne Morris, and Bev Anderson Ziemen.

Nomination forms are available at City Hall or you may simply submit a letter detailing your nominee's contributions. You may also email your nomination to cityckech@evertek.net.

Deadline for nominations is 4:30 p.m. on Friday, January 29th at City Hall. The award will be presented at the CAEDC Annual Recognition Banquet on March 13. Thank you for the support you have shown this program.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: