[Masthead] Overcast ~ 42°F  
High: 56°F ~ Low: 39°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Simonsen to chair Board for 2010

Thursday, January 7, 2010

County Auditor Kris Glienke , who also serves as the Clerk to the Cherokee County Board of Supervisors, called the first Supervisors meeting of 2010 to order on Monday January 4, 2010.

The first order of business was the election of the Chairman of the Board, and

Jeff Simonsen was re-elected Chairman. Dean Schmidt was re-elected Vice-Chair. Kris Glienke was then chosen to be the Clerk to the Board again in 2010.

The Board set the date and time for the regular 2010 Supervisors meeting to remain on Tuesdays at 9 a.m.

The Board named the official newspapers for Cherokee county, and once again the Chronicle Times and the Marcus News were selected.

The Board set mileage rates for county employees at 42 cents a mile , the same rate as in 2009.

The new payday for county employees will be moved from Tuesdays to Thursdays, effective July 1, 2010.

In other organizational business, the Board approved their Committee assignments , which will remain the same as in 2009: Courthouse Committee -- Prunty, Graybill; County Shop -- all Supervisors; County Fair -- Graybill, Schmidt; YES Center Board -- Prunty, Graybill (alternate); Solid Waste Commission -- Leeds, Simonsen (alternate), Bud Clow ad hoc member; Mid-Sioux -- Schmidt, Graybill (alternate); Plains Area Mental Heath -- Graybill, Leeds (alternate); Cherokee County Work Services -- Graybill, Simonsen (alternate); SRTS -- Simonsen, Prunty (alternate); Third Judicial Representative -- Simonsen, Schmidt (alternate); Regional Workforce Investment Board -- Simonsen, Schmidt (alternate); E911 -- Graybill, Simons (alternate); SIMPCO -- Prunty, Leeds (alternate); EMS -- Aimee Barritt, Graybill, Prunty (alternate); REAP -- Leeds, Graybill; Case Management Advisory Board/Project Team -- Leeds, Schmidt, (alternate); MHI Advisory Board -- Schmidt; Hazardous Materials Response Commission -- Prunty, Graybill; Cherokee County Residential Services, Inc. -- Schmidt, Prunty (alternate); NW IA Community Empowerment Board -- Leeds; MHI Citizens Advisory Board -- all Supervisors; NW IA Contracting Consortium Administrative Board -- Simonsen, Schmidt; Sioux Rivers RC&D Council -- Simonsen, Prunty (alternate); Enterprise Zone Board -- Schmidt; USDA Rural Revolving Loan Committee -- Simonsen; Board of Health -- all Supervisors; and CRMC Ambulance -- Schmidt.

The Board also reviewed Committee appointments to various county boards, and Steve Nelson was named to a five-year term on the Conservation Board and Tom Jenness was re- appointed as Weed Commissioner for a one-year term.

Other appointments made included Dr. Tim Rice and Dawn Ruehley for three year terms on the Cherokee County Board of Health; Brenda Perrin for a six-year term on the Civil Service Commission; LeRoy Schoon and Dale Glienke to five-year terms on the Board of Adjustment; and Branden Miesemer as the Cherokee County Death Investigator.

The Supervisors accepted the resignation of Hosea Carnes as trustee for Pilot Township, and appointed Scott Carnes to that position.

In other business, the Board met briefly with Cherokee County Engineer Dave Shanahan, who gave an update on county roads and a repair report on county equipment that showed wear during the recent heavy snowfall.

The Board also heard from Dick Sievers of Mid-Sioux Opportunity, who presented the Board with a funding request for the 2010/2011 fiscal year. Sievers requested the same amount as last year - $9,000.

Julie Schulenber and Rhonda Dean of the Centers Against Abuse and Sexual Assault also presented the Board with a funding request for the amount of $6,000.

Chairman Simonsen told both groups that their "funding is pretty safe," and stated his appreciation for all that they do for the citizens of Cherokee County.

The Board also met with Lisa Langlitz and Lynda Holmich of the Cherokee County Services and went into a closed session, per Iowa Code 21.5 (a) "To review or discuss records which are required or authorized by state or federal law to be kept confidential or to be kept confidential as a condition for that governmental body's possession or continued receipt of federal funds." No action was taken.

The Board went back into regular session and heard form Tom Oswald of the Cherokee Soil and Water Conservation District , who also submitted a funding request for the amount of $26,000 to maintain local projects. The Board had already approved $13,000 from the 2009/2010 budget as part of the Rural Betterment Fund. The Board told Oswald that they would take the CSWCD request under advisement.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: