Gov. Culver announces eligibility for State Individual Assistance Program

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

DES MOINES -- Governor Chet Culver recently announced that individuals affected by severe winter weather in Adair, Guthrie, Cherokee, and Monona Counties would be eligible for the state's individual assistance program. The program was turned on at the request of county emergency management officials.

The State's Individual Assistance Program provides up to $5,000 in reimbursements for damages incurred for those whose income is up to 200% above the poverty level. For more information on the state's Individual Assistance Program, visit the Department of Human Services' website: and click on Storm Help, or call 877-937-3663.

Last week, the Governor turned the program on to those in Audubon, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Crawford, Sac, and Shelby counties. It is expected that in the coming days, additional counties could be eligible for the program.

The news comes after Governor Culver announced on Friday that he had sent two requests for a Presidential Disaster Declaration. The two requests affect 28 counties, and come after two severe winter storms hit the region in recent weeks.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: