[Masthead] Fair ~ 71°F  
High: 76°F ~ Low: 54°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

3 MMC wrestlers make Districts

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Russ Godbersen of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn won several tournaments this season and won the 152-pound Class 1A Sectional at Okoboji Saturday, earning a District berth at Sioux Center this Saturday. Photo contributed
Godbersen, Pearson brothers advance

MILFORD - Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn qualified three wrestlers for Districts Saturday in Sioux Center after finishing first or second in Class 1A Sectional action here Saturday.

The Eagles featured champions Tyler Pearson at 130 pounds, and Russ Godbersen at 152, and runner-up Jacob Pearson at 160.

Cherokee's Patrick Loughlin and Jacob Pearson of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn battled in a recent match in Holstein, won by Loughlin on a close decision. Loughlin won the 171-pound title at Saturday's Class 2A Sectional in Sheldon, and Pearson was runner-up at 160 at the 1A Sectional at Okoboji, both qualifying for Districts this Saturday. Loughlin will wrestle in Cherokee, and Pearson in Sioux Center. Photo by Paul Struck
Tyler Pearson had a first-round bye, pinned Tyler O'Conner of Sibley-Ocheyedan in 1:32, and then beat Trent Lundgren of Graettinger-Terril 4-3 in the finals. Pearson now sports a shiny 32-12 record.

Godbersen drew a first-round bye, pinned Kris Kaufman of Okoboji in 3:40, and pinned Brett Flynn of Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn in 1:23 in the finals. Godbersen, ranked #3 in the State in 1A, is now 39-4 on the season. Flynn is ranked 10th in 1A.

Jacob Pearson placed second after drawing a bye in first round, beating Todd Bottorf of Kingsley-Pierson 8-3, and losing by fall in 1:56 to 10th-ranked Zach Jones of Okoboji. Pearson sports a snazzy 31-11 record to date.

Three other Eagles just mised out of a District berth after placing third at the Sectionals. They were Tyler Nielsen at 119 pounds, who was 1-1 Saturday with no wrestle-back chance; Jacob Meehan at 140, who was 1-1 for the day with no wrestle-back opportunity; and Ethan Radtke at 171, who was 1-1 on the day with no wrestle-back chance.

Nielsen ends his season with a 21-17 record, Meehan ends at 34-6, and Radtke 16-6.

Also for MMC, Taylor Coombs (1-2) was fourth at 145, Dillon Mugge (18-18) fourth at 215, and Levi Letsche (16-20) fourth at 285.

Nathan Zubrod (10-21) was fifth at 189, and Ben Phillips (17-17) sixth at 135.

Host Okoboji won the Sectional team crown with 183 points, followed by G-T 118.5, HMS 168, MMC 141, S-O 124.5, Alta 101, and K-P 82.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: