[Masthead] Overcast ~ 41°F  
High: 55°F ~ Low: 45°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

District wrestling tourneys Saturday

Friday, February 12, 2010

Cherokee hosts 11-team Class 2A field

The table is set for the Class 2A District Wrestling competition Saturday in Cherokee, with 11 Northwest Iowa teams represented by grapplers placing either first or second at last week's Sectional action in Holstein and Sheldon.

The wrestling begins at noon Saturday at the Washington High gym here, with Cherokee qualifying Sectional champion Patrick Loughlin at 171 pounds, and runner-up Jack Letsche at 135.

Aurelia/Galva-Holstein/Schaller-Crestland advanced three wrestlers to Districts, including Sectional champs Taylor Witzel at 160, Logan Schafer at 285, and Sectional runner-up Michael Davidson at 215.

The teams represented here Saturday include host Cherokee, AGHSC, Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley, Carroll, Central Lyon/George-Little Rock, MOC-Floyd Valley, Odebolt-Arthur/Battle Creek-Ida Grove, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Sheldon-South O'Brien, Rockwell City-Lytton/Southern Cal, and Hull Westerm Christian.

In Class 1A, three Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn wrestlers qualified for Districts to be held Saturday in Sioux Center.

Those Eagles include Sectional champions Tyler Pearson at 130 pounds, and Russ Godbersen at 152, and Sectional runner-up Jacob Pearson at 160.

The Iowa State Wrestling Tournament is in Des Moines at the Wells Fargo Arena Feb. 17-20.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: